C Duncan Announces Single + Brand new track + Remixes

C Duncan Announces Single + Brand new track + Remixes

C DUNCAN ANNOUNCES RELEASE OF ‘LIKE YOU DO’ ALONGSIDE BRAND NEW TRACK ‘NOTHING AT ALL’

OUT MARCH 17TH VIA FATCAT RECORDS

‘Like You Do’

 

‘Pastoral dream-pop dizzyingly close to perfection’ The Guardian     ‘Wide-eyed, spacious and hypnotic’ Mercury Music Award

‘Ravishing and blissful’ Uncut     ‘Euphoric’ The Sunday Times    ‘Elegant and thought-provoking’ The Quietus      ‘Irresistible’ Mojo

Delving into more expansive and experimental territories, Glasgow’s prodigious talent C Duncan released his second album ’The Midnight Sun’ last October to critical acclaim. Blending electronic elements and sweeping synth sounds with his signature layered vocals and dreamy instrumentation, the follow up to his Mercury Prize nominated debut ‘Architect’ won huge praise from the likes of The Guardian, The Sunday Times, Mojo, Uncut and The Quietus. ‘Like You Do’ is the latest single to be taken from ‘The Midnight Sun,’ alongside brand new offering ‘Nothing At All.’ Three remixes will complete the deluxe package, set for digital release on March 17th via FatCat Records.

 

“This, for me, is one of the more unsettling songs on the album” Duncan tells us, “It’s about being deprived of satisfaction and suffering as a result”. This theme of depravity is mirrored through the songs instrumentation. The listener is first teased with a skittering beat and a spiralling synth line that leaves the track bare and exposed. As layers of vocals and synth are gradually introduced, ‘Like You Do’ gains an almost uplifting confidence that offers an opposition to this depravity. Previously unheard track ‘Nothing At All’ produces a dreamlike atmosphere that could only be conjured by C Duncan’s ability to seamlessly weave vocals in and out of warm synths and gentle melodies.

 

The single’s artwork, a painting of a dimly lit staircase, is also a piece by C Duncan, who also happens to be a skilled painter. “This being another album made from home, I wanted the artwork to parallel that.” elaborates the artist. “The paintings I have done for it are of interiors – the stairwell outside my flat to be precise. I spend a lot of time out there thinking about music, and I wanted there to be a very personal element to the artwork.”

 

With a brand new and bigger live show in tow, C Duncan has blossomed into a fully accomplished live artist. Having fast-tracked from playing basement venues alone to selling out 900 cap venues within a year, his live show has come along hugely. Now performing as a five-piece band, Duncan’s hushed vocals and plentiful harmonies are now realised with mesmerising precision. Having recently finished their first headline tour of the year, the band will support Elbow on their UK run throughout March before hitting the road again in May. Full dates.

 

 

 

Elbow Support Shows

Wednesday 1st March – 02 Academy Birmingham

Thursday 2nd March – 02 Academy Birmingham

Saturday 4th – London Eventim Apollo

Sunday 5th March – London Eventim Apollo

Monday 6th March – London Eventim Apollo

Wednesday 8th March – Bournemouth, BIC

Thursday 9th March – Plymouth Pavilions

Friday 10th March – Newport Centre

Sunday 12th March – Edinburgh, Usher Hall

Monday 13th March – Edinburgh, Usher Hall

Tuesday 14th March – Bridlington Spa

Wednesday 15th March – Doncaster, Dome

Thursday 16th March – Leicester, De Montfort Hall

Saturday 18th March – 02 Manchester Apollo

Sunday 19th March – 02 Manchester Apollo

Monday 20th March – 02 Manchester Apollo

Tuesday 21st March – 02 Manchester Apollo

 

Just Added

Thursday 4th May – Cork, Cyprus Avenue

Friday 5th May – Limerick, Dolans

Saturday 6th May – Dublin, Whelan’s

Monday 8th May – Birmingham, Hare & Hounds

Tuesday 9th May – Cardiff, Clwb Ifor Bach

Wednesday 10th May – London, Islington Assembly Hall

Friday 12th May – Manchester, Band On The Wall

Saturday 13th May – Sheffield, The Leadmill

Sunday 14th May – Edinburgh, The Caves

Previous post
SHEEPY announce new album with hilarious video
Next post
Dutch Uncles to launch album at new go karting track
Back
SHARE

C Duncan Announces Single + Brand new track + Remixes