Flogging Molly To Release Their New Album, ‘Speed Of Darkness’

From the depths of Toronto, ON)  FLOGGING MOLLY, the legendary 7-piece Celtic punk ensemble, are set to release their 5th studio album worldwide on May 31, 2011. Recorded with producer Ryan Hewitt (Red Hot Chili Peppers, The Avett Brothers), the latest release is the highly-anticipated follow-up to their excellent 2008 release ‘Float’, which debuted at #4 on the US Billboard Top 200. In addition, Flogging Molly has sold well over 2 million records in the US and Canada alone, and over 80,000 in the UK, and Europe.

The bulk of the new album was written in the city of Detroit, original home to Flogging Molly fiddler (and front man Dave King’s wife) Bridget Regan, and the city where the couple have resided almost fulltime for the last three years. Speed Of Darkness takes a hard-nosed look at the economic collapse in the US and the direct effect it has had on everyday people. The Motor City serves as the album’s muse and a painful example of what has gone wrong in today’s world. “It wasn’t the album we set out to write,” says King. “It became the album we had to write”.  This is an album of rebellion and exile, and of struggle and history and the fight, and moves the hard talking, hard playing outfit into the territory of purveyors of the modern American protest song.
From the blistering album opener and title track, to the itchy grooves of “The Power’s Out”; from the acoustic leanings of “Saints & Sinners” to the classic storytelling of “Oliver Boy (All Of Our Boys)”, Speed of Darkness fires on all cylinders, bristling with grooves, melody and energy. Though much of the album conveys the worldwide economic angst that was nowhere more intense than in the American city of Detroit, there is actually a strong message of hope, humanity and the resilience of mankind.
To celebrate the new record, the band are offering the first single, ‘Don’t Shut ‘Em Down’, as a free download. The song, a rebel rousing commentary on America’s economic downturn, is the perfect representation of the bands’ expertly honed sound that fans worldwide have come to known and love, as well as a reflection of the central themes of the new record.
Speed of Darkness will be released through Flogging Molly’s own newly-formed Borstal Beat Records and will be distributed by Fontana in Canada.  Canadian tour dates will be announced in the coming weeks.

Speed of Darkness Track Listing:
01. Speed of Darkness
02. Revolution
03. The Heart of the Sea
04. Don’t Shut ‘Em Down
05.  The Power’s Out
06.  So Sail On
07.  Saints & Sinners
08.  Present State of Grace
09.  The Cradle of Human Kind
10.  Oliver Boy (All of our Boys)
11.  A Prayer For Me In Silence
12.  Rise Up


No new videos available just yet, so something fropm the vaults.