Thin Lizzy Go Deluxe – New Expanded Re-issues Set For Release

Thin Lizzy are to release Deluxe Expanded Reissues of three groundbreaking albums, ‘Jailbreak’, ‘Johnny The Fox’ and ‘Live And Dangerous’. All three albums get the treatment which includes previously unreleased material. Refreshingly the powers that be have resisted throwing them into that Christmas market, instead plumbing for a January 24th 2011 release.

Released though Universal Music, these classic albums were remixed, remastered and compiled by original band member Scott Gorham and Joe Elliott (Def Leppard) – each contains a remastered version of the original disc and a second disc of rare bonus tracks. “Live and Dangerous” is a two disc set and a third disc DVD.

1976’s “Jailbreak” is Thin Lizzy’s sixth studio album. This album proved to be Thin Lizzy’s commercial breakthrough in the U.S. with the massive singles “Jailbreak” and “The Boys Are Back in Town” (the latter being Thin Lizzy’s biggest ever hit). One of the classic rock albums of all time, this deluxe version contains a BBC session from the time as well as previously unreleased tracks. The package is rounded off with new sleeve notes and has a booklet packed with rare photos and memorabilia.

Released in 1976 “Johnny the Fox” was Thin Lizzy’s seventh studio album. The album was written and recorded while bassist/vocalist Phil Lynott was recovering from a bout of hepatitis that put him off the road halfway through the Jailbreak tour. As a rock album, it stands with the best of Thin Lizzy’s work. Released during the band’s peak years (the mid- to late ’70s), the album highlights the twin guitar attack of Scott Gorham and Brian Robertson and Lynott’s own songwriting – the songs on offer revealing a more focused craftsmanship. The overall tone of the album is looser than previous albums. It contains the all time classic “Don’t Believe a Word” and other Lizzy staples. The deluxe version contains a BBC session from the time as well as previously unreleased tracks. The package is rounded off with new sleeve notes and has a booklet packed with rare photos and memorabilia.

“Live and Dangerous” was released in 1978 and is arguably one of the great live albums of all time – the cover an iconic and instantly recognisable image of Phil Lynott. It was recorded in London and Toronto in 1977, during the tours accompanying the albums “Johnny the Fox” and “Bad Reputation”. “Live and Dangerous” was originally intended to be a studio album. The band had worked with producer Tony Visconti on their previous album Bad Reputation, and the group wanted to work with him again. But since Visconti had a very tight schedule Phil Lynott came up with the idea that they spend two weeks together compiling a live album instead. The album is packed with Thin Lizzy’s timeless greatest moments and remains one of the most influential and revered albums of all time.

A DVD was released (included in this package) which contains all the recorded video from the “Live and Dangerous” concert, including: (in order) “Rosalie”, “The Boys Are Back In Town”, “Emerald”, “Dancing In The Moonlight”, “Massacre”, “Still In Love With You”, “Don’t Believe A Word”, “Are You Ready”, “Sha-La-La”, “Baby Drives Me Crazy”, and “Me And The Boys” (not included on the album). It also includes various other Thin Lizzy performances, including a recorded show from their farewell tour.

The “Live And Dangerous” deluxe expanded edition is rounded off with new sleeve notes and has a booklet packed with rare photos and memorabilia.

It has been twenty four years since the death of the iconic Phil Lynott, the world has changed, but the amazing body of work that is Thin Lizzy still retains all of its vibrancy and influence.

Track listings and new Thin Lizzy news and tour dates below.


Disc one

1- Jailbreak
2- Angel From The Coast
3- Running Back
4- Romeo And The Lonely Girl
5- Warriors
6- The Boys Are Back In Town
7- Fight Or Fall
8- Cowboy Song
9- Emerald

Disc Two

1- Jailbreak (Re-mixed Version)
2- The Boys Are Back In Town (Re-mixed Version)
3- Jailbreak (BBC Session 12/02/1976)
4- Emerald (BBC Session 12/02/1976)
5- Cowboy song (BBC Session 12/02/1976)
6- The Warrior (BBC Session 12/02/1976)
7- Fight Or Fall (Extended Version – Rough Mix)
8- Blues Boy (Unreleased Studio Track)
9- Derby Blues (Early Version – The Cowboy Song)

Johnny The Fox

Disc One

1- Johnny
2- Rocky
3- Borderline
4- Don’t Believe A Word
5- Fools Gold
6- Johnny The Fox Meets Jimmy The Weed
7- Old Flame
8- Massacre
9- Sweet Marie
10- Boogie-Woogie Dance

Disc Two

1- Don’t Believe A Word (Re-Mixed Version)
2- Borderline (Re-Mixed Version)
3- Johnny The Fox Meets Jimmy The Weed (Re-Mixed Version)
4- Don’t Believe A Word (BBC Sessions 11/10/1976)
5- Johnny The Fox Meets Jimmy The Weed (BBC Sessions 11/10/1976)
6- Fools Gold (BBC Sessions 11/10/1976)
7- Johnny (BBC Sessions 11/10/1976)
8- Fools Gold (Instrumental Run Through)
9- Johnny The Fox Meets Jimmy The Weed (Instrumental Run Through/Extended)
10- Rocky (Instrumental Run Through)
11- Massacre (Instrumental Take With Lynott Directions To Band)
12- Scott’s Tune (Unreleased Scott Gorham Composition)
13- Don’t Believe A Word (Studio Outake- Different Lyrics)

Live And Dangerous

Disc One

1- Jailbreak
2- Emerald
3- Southbound
4- Rosalie – Cowgirls Song
5- Dancing In The Moonlight (It’s Caught Me In A Spotlight)
6- Massacre
7- Still In Love With You

8- Johnny The Fox Meets Jimmy The Weed

Disc Two

1- Cowboy Song
2- The Boys Are Back In Town
3- Don’t Believe A Word
4- Warriors
5- Are You Ready
6- Suicide
7- Sha La La
8- Baby Drives Me Crazy
9- The Rocker

Bonus Tracks
10- Opium Trail (Wild One-L & D Outake)
11- Bad Reputation (Wild One-L & D Outake)

Disc Three DVD

1- Introduction/Rosalie
2- The Boys Are Back In Town
3- Emerald
4- Dancing In The Moonlight (It’s Caught Me In A Spotlight)
5- Massacre
6- Call On Me
7- Don’t Believe A Word
8- Are You Ready
9- Sha La La
10- Baby Drives Me Crazy
11- Finale/Me And The Boys

The Deluxe Expanded Reissues of “Jailbreak”, “Johnny the Fox” and “Live & Dangerous” are released through Universal Music on the 24th January 2011

A new lineup has formed to take Lizzy’s music to a whole new generation of music fans. Led by alumni Scott Gorham, Brian Downey and Darren Wharton (all of whom played in Thin Lizzy with Phil Lynott) the stellar lineup is completed by Def Leppards Viv Campbell (guitar), Bassist Marco Mendoza (Whitesnake, Ted Nugent) and The Almighty’s Ricky Warwick on vocals and guitar.

Thursday 6th January 2011 – Aberdeen Music Hall
Friday 7th – Glasgow O2 Academy
Saturday 8th – Newcastle City Hall
Monday 10th – Leeds O2 Academy
Tuesday 11th – Llandudno Theatre
Wednesday 12th – Leicester De Montfort Hall
Friday 14th – Wolverhampton Civic Hall
Saturday 15th – Manchester O2 Apollo
Sunday 16th – Bristol Colston Hall
Tuesday 18th – Southampton Guildhall
Wednesday 19th – Ipswich Regent
Friday 21st – Cambridge Corn Exchange
Saturday 22nd – Hammersmith, London, HMV Apollo
Sunday 23rd – London, IndigO2 at The O2
Wednesday 16th February 2011 – Belfast Waterfront Hall
Thursday 17th – Dublin Olympia Theatre

Tickets are priced £23.50 (£26 London) – subject to booking fee – and are available VIP packages will be available through