Adam Torres Announces New Album Pearls To Swine Out on 9 September via Fat Possom

Adam Torres Announces New Album Pearls To Swine Out on 9 September via Fat Possom




Austin, Texas-based musician Adam Torres will release his second album Pearls To Swine on 9th September 2016 via Fat Possum. Stereogum premiered the lead track “High Lonesome”, which they described as; “a shimmering moonlit meditation”. Pearls To Swine is now available for pre-order in the Fat Possum webstore:

Pearls To Swine was recorded over eight days in January at Austin’s Cacophony Recorders with co-producer and mixer Erik Wofford (Bill Callahan, Black Angels, M. Ward, Okkervil River). Laid directly to tape, there’s a natural, warm, and almost magical realism atmosphere to the songs – like a high-stakes live show captured in a fantastical setting, each its own uniquely crafted cinematic soundscape. The core rhythm was captured live and augmented by a few overdubs, and Torres is joined on the album by the players in his band: Swans’ Thor Harris (on conga drums, vibraphone, and percussion), Aisha Burns (violin), and Dailey Toliver (bass/piano), with drum kit performances by Matthew Shepherd and Rodolfo Villareal III.

There’s a persisting theme that threads through Torres’ own story as well as Pearls To Swine. Within the cosmos of the album, characters experience a sort of misadventure and persevere, casting light on the way life can lead you down a path that’s far from where you wanted to be. The album maps Torres’ complicated history as a songwriter and musician: it’s the sound of someone who discovered the value in his own devotion to music, and how writing and songs are extensions of his own journey. He embeds his own folklore within his high-lonesome sounding, deeply felt and moving brand of folk music.

To truly understand Pearls To Swine and Torres’ arrival on his current path, one has to start at the beginning. In 2006, the then 20-year-old released his idiosyncratic, varied, and beautiful debut album,Nostra Nova. A DIY self-release, the album became a closely-held, sleeper favorite in the close-knit music scene of Athens, OH and over the years grew to a ‘cult classic’-like status. But not long after its release, Torres turned his focus from pursuing music professionally to other interests: he returned to college; traveled, taught, and volunteered in South America; moved to Austin to attend graduate school; and spent two years working for the state of Texas on a project aimed at cleaning the water quality of the Rio Grande River in South Texas.

All the while, he never stopped playing music, writing songs, or performing. Having penned more than 100 songs since 2006, Torres quietly released his first music since Nostra Nova in 2012 through DC cassette-label DZ Tapes, which featured tape-recorded demos made inside the apartments he lived in during his time in Ecuador. In 2015, Nostra Nova saw a small reissue and finally achieved its due outside of its underground lore, receiving praise from outlets including The A.V. Club, Stereogum (“a stunner”), VICE (“beautiful, melancholy tunes”), Popmatters, All Music Guide, and Flavorwire.


Pearls To Swine track listing:

1. Juniper Arms

2. Some Beast Will Find You By Name

3. High Lonesome

4. Morning Rain

5. Daydream

6. Outlands

7. Where I’m Calling From

8. Mountain River

9. City Limits

Previous post
Fatboy Slim: Find a #FunkSoulBusker in today's London #RushHour
Next post
Young Vincent - 'Run' Single

Adam Torres Announces New Album Pearls To Swine Out on 9 September via Fat Possom