Adrian Sherwood’s much-loved independent label On-U sound: back in full effect for 2015

Adrian Sherwood’s much-loved independent label On-U sound: back in full effect for 2015

Adrian Sherwood’s much-loved independent label On-U sound: back in full effect for 2015

· Full back catalogue made available to coincide with launch of new website and label shop

View the catalogue trailer below

· Next release is War Of Words – the classic debut album by Singers & Players, out 21 August


The influential and bountiful On U Sound catalogue contains over 70 albums that explore the infinite possibilities of dub, as refracted through the prism of other scenes the label touched such as new wave, electro and industrial. After a long period of being out-of-print, all the releases are now available on iTunes, Spotify, Rdio, Deezer, Juno, Boomkat, Bleep and other digital retailers, not to mention the label’s own shop.


The back catalogue takes all the classic albums by key On-U artists, as well as genre-defying compilations, mind-boggling one-offs and rarities. This is the most complete form that the label’s releases have ever been available in, and chart a unique history of underground music.

View the War Of Words trailer below and pre-order the album here


This is the latest stage in an extensive 2015 release schedule that has already taken in new albums from On-U head Adrian Sherwood in collaboration with Bristol dubstep don Pinch (the epic Late Night Endless), a crucial compilation of early Sherwood productions (Sherwood At The Controls Volume 1: 1979 – 1984), and reissue of obscure Mancunian post-punks The Mothmen.


The next release on the label comes out on 21 August, a lovingly assembled vinyl re-press of the seminal debut longplayer by early On-U collective Singers & Players, War Of Words, which first came out in 1981 via a licence deal On-U did with seminal NYC label 99 Records (also home to the likes of ESG, Liquid Liquid and Glenn Branca). A unique collision between top Jamaican vocal talents (Bim Sherman, Prince Far-I & Jah Woosh) and musicians (members of crack session band the Roots Radics), and the London post-punk scene (Keith Levene from The Clash and Public Image Limited plays guitar, and Ari-Up from The Slits provides backing vocals). The new edition has been re-cut at the world-renowned dubplates & mastering in Berlin, and comes with a download card and pull-out poster insert.

War Of Words LP Tracklist:

Side A


01. Devious Woman

02. Quanté Jubila

03. Sit & Wonder

04. Fit To Survive


Side B


05. Reaching The Bad Man

06. World Of Dispensation

07. 91 Vibration


There’s much more to come from the label, including a very exciting DJ-curated compilation for September, which will be announced shortly.

To view the complete On-U Sound catalogue, click here.

About the label:


On-U Sound is an iconic independent label with a treasure trove of remarkable music, and sits in a unique position historically as a junction point between the heavy influence of Jamaican music on UK culture and the development of disparate sounds such as post-punk, hip-hop, industrial, jungle, dubstep and beyond.


The label emerged from a fertile UK DIY scene that birthed contemporary imprints such as Rough Trade, 4AD and Factory.  Since 1981, with label boss and producer Adrian Sherwood at the helm, On-U Sound has released over 100 albums and singles and launched the careers of countless artists.


As a producer, Adrian has worked with The Slits, Cabaret Voltaire, Nine Inch Nails, Ministry, The Fall, Sinead O’Connor and more. His remix credits include Depeche Mode, Afrika Bambaataa, Blur, Primal Scream, Air and Peaking Lights. Massively respected by other musicians, he is an acknowledged influence on the likes of Andrew Weatherall, Carl Craig and Machinedrum.


Key On-U Sound artists include Lee ‘Scratch’ Perry, Tackhead, Dub Syndicate, African Head Charge, New Age Steppers, Singers & Players and Bim Sherman.


In 2015, Adrian continues to be in-demand for his unique sonic vision and this year he has been in the studio with Clinic, Roots Manuva and Nisennenmondai. There is also a major project underway to reissue and reappraise the amazing back catalogue of classic records that have been released on the imprint, which was recently instigated with the release of Sherwood At The Controls Volume 1: 1979 – 1984, a compilation highlighting some crucial early tracks and unreleased gems from the tape vaults, and the exclusive Record Store Day release An On-U Journey Through Time & Space.


“The depth and breadth of Sherwood at the Controls stuns. These songs aren’t just curious footnotes in one man’s extensive discography—a bunch of them legitimately bang, and the ones that don’t go full-bore into left field. Taken together, they give a sense of the indelible mark Sherwood has left, and hopefully there is more on the way to round out the picture.” Pitchfork

Previous post
SchulKid - "Slow Dancing" ft Valair
Next post
Niagara - Vanillacola Re-bottled

Adrian Sherwood’s much-loved independent label On-U sound: back in full effect for 2015