Alaska’s The Modern Savage Announce LP Out 1/27 + 1st Track via She Shreds!

Alaska’s The Modern Savage Announce LP Out 1/27 + 1st Track via She Shreds!

The Modern Savage

Sophomore LP Unwilling Participants Out January 27

Fierce 1st Single “Straight And Narrow”

Premieres via She Shreds

“The Modern Savage bridged Cyndi Lauper and Ra Ra Riot with sturdy cables.”SPIN

“With its upbeat melodies and catchy chorus of planning for “next time around,” [Straight and Narrow] also hints at her underlying resilience and strength.” She Shreds

Photo Credit: Ash Adams
Anchorage, AK quintet The Modern Savage have announced the release of their sophomore LP, Unwilling Participants, out January 27. Unwilling Participants was produced, recorded, and mixed by Brooklyn’s James Frazee (Beck, Patti Smith, Sharon Van Etten, Esperanza Spalding) and ranges from morose and melodic to brazen and unabashed. Today, they deliver an enticing album introduction with lead single “Straight And Narrow. Blending commanding riffs with multi-layer distortion and dynamic vocals, the track drops today with She Shreds.
Lead singer Jenni May Toro spans the urgency of Pat Benatar and the vulnerability of Sufjan Stevens, gently guiding the raw potency of the creative quintet. Tracks like “Evil” and album opener “Pull Me” highlight her captivating timbre while later album cuts like “Dead Presidents” are driven along by melodic guitar flourishes and an undeniable beat.
The juxtaposition of a “modern savage” encompasses the full range of the band’s magnetism. They attract a worldwide audience through a homegrown perspective and dynamic sound. The Modern Savage have established themselves as a regional powerhouse while sharing the stage with the likes of American Authors, Jane’s Addiction, Owl City, and Silversun Pickups. This latest effort builds on the idea of finding identity, yet refuses to be confined.

Unwilling Participants Track List:
1. Pull Me
2. Girl From Nowhere
3. No Love Lost
4. Straight And Narrow
5. Beg
6. Neon Tongue
7. Chlorophyll
8. Borrow
9. Evil
10. All Hail
11. Steal
12. Dead Presidents
13. Bow Down

Facebook | Twitter | Soundcloud | Website

Previous post
Slow Caves Signs to Old Flame Records - "The Desert Minded" EP Out 3/10 - January West Coast Tour
Next post
WHY? Announce New LP Moh Lhean out on 3 March via Joyful Noise Recordings

Alaska’s The Modern Savage Announce LP Out 1/27 + 1st Track via She Shreds!