All About Eve – Scarlet And Other Stories Expanded edition released

All About Eve – Scarlet And Other Stories Expanded edition released

Released September  29th

On September 29th All About Eve’s second album ‘Scarlet And Other Stories’ is released as an expanded version by Universal Music Catalogue. Originally released in 1989 ‘Scarlet and Other Stories’ reached No. 9 in the UK Album charts and spawned three Top 40 singles.

This collection covers the original album along with extended remixes, B-sides, the Wayne Hussey session from 1990, two previously unreleased acoustic BBC radio sessions plus a host of Live recordings from Glastonbury and headline shows in 1989. After the critically and commercial acclaimed reaction to their debut album and series of successful headline European tours (which included a sold out show at London’s Royal Albert Hall) the band set about writing the follow-up.

The first batch of songs were written and demoed during some downtime in the summer of ’88 before they embarked upon the second leg of the previous album tour and promotion of single releases from the album.  They started recording at Marcus Studios in London in December with initial recordings of Silver And Gold and Tuesdays Child, again with Paul Samwell-Smith taking on production duties.

In early ’89 the band moved to a rural rehearsal studio to continue writing and shaping the arrangements of the previous year’s demos before formal recordings at Chipping Norton studios in Oxfordshire began in April.  During the sessions they took time out to play the Glastonbury Festival, support slots with The Cure and Simple Minds and a headlining slot at Fairport Convention’s Cropredy Festival in August. The first single, Road To Your Soul was released in September to positive reviews and – continuing the tradition of giving their fans real value for money with their singles – two non-album tracks, Pieces of Your Heart and Hard Spaniard as b-sides.

The album, with its darker musical and lyrical undertones to its predecessor, was released in October and entered the UK Top 10.  To coincide with its release the band undertook their largest UK tour to date taking in 2 sold-out shows at London’s Hammersmith Odeon. Before the year’s end, and aptly timed, they released an edited version of December, as a single which included Drowning and a cover of Jethro Tull’s The Witch’s Promise.  1990 was a relatively quiet, successful and ultimately sad time for the band.  In April they released, Scarlet the third and final single from the album and also played 3 special sold out shows at the Royal Albert Hall.  These were to be the last shows they played with guitarist, Tim, who decided to leave the band due to a difference of opinion over the band’s  All About Eve, however, continued and enrolled Keith Airey on guitar. In July, they embarked on a German tour and supported The Cure at their Crystal Palace Bowl concert.

Julianne also appeared as a guest vocalist with Fairport Convention at the 1990 Cropredy Before recruiting a full time guitarist, they asked Wayne Hussey to help them record and produce some new demos.  This session heralded 3 songs, Theft (If I Had You), The Dreamer and A Different Sky, included on this collection.

Here is All About Eve performing the single December

To pre-order Scarlet And Other Stories go to

12 Road To Your Soul (Extended)

04 Our Summer (Live at Hammersmith ’89)

05 Candy Tree (Live at Hammersmith ’89)

06 Tuesday’s Child (Live at Hammersmith ’89)

07 In The Clouds (Live In Glasgow)

08 Never Promise (Live In Glasgow)

10 More Than The Blues (Live In Glasgow)

11 Road To Your Soul (Live In Glasgow)

12 She Moves Through The Fair (Live In Glasgow)

13 The Pearl Fisherman (Sat Sequence 14/9/89)

14 Blind Lemon Sam (Sat Sequence 14/9/89)

15 Empty Dancehall (Richard Skinner 1/10/89)

16 December (Richard Skinner 1/10/89)

17 The Pearl Fisherman (Richard Skinner 1/10/89)

18 Only One Reason (Live At Glastonbury 16.6.89)

Previous post
Tori Kelly Announces Additional London Show
Next post
All About Eve - Debut Album Expanded Edition

All About Eve – Scarlet And Other Stories Expanded edition released