Avant-pop artist Torgny premieres new video ‘Into The Night’ via Nowness

Avant-pop artist Torgny premieres new video ‘Into The Night’ via Nowness

Avant-pop artist Torgny

premieres new video ‘Into The Night’ via Nowness. View it here

Taken from new album ‘Cut & Run’ out now. bit.ly/Torgny_Cutnrun_Album

Through his music and visual collaborations, the Norwegian artist Torgny exposes unseen or forgotten afflictive aspects of his origin, his country and hometown, the city of Oslo. For the visualization of his song ‘Into the Night’, he teamed up with the computational design studio VOID, photographer Pernille Sandberg and the film team TYD. What started out as an aesthetic exploration of the lyric video through simple projection techniques, gradually grew into a series of guerrilla light installations as the team hauled a video projector to some of the city’s most iconic buildings and places – some known, some half forgotten.

Torgny details the video, “To us the lyrics came to represent one level of communication layered on top of another – the language of concrete structures and the human body. By juxtaposing images of the urban landscape with up-close footage of the artist’s uncovered body, we explored the dissonance as well as the similarities between humans and human made artefacts.”

‘Into The Night’ is taken from the new album ‘Cut & Run’.

Torgny explains: “Cut and run is an old expression, used in situations where one had to cut the anchor and sail away at full speed. This is the mood that I feel best describes the songs on the album. I also really like the words on their own. Their aggression and energy”.

The resulting collection of nine songs make up a unique and dynamic musical journey, both as a whole and on their own. Musically, the former hardcore singer has created a fascinating mix of melody, vulnerability, razor-sharp synths and controlled aggression.

Inspired by punk, hip hop and folk, the former hardcore singer not only delivers expressive energy, but also escapist melancholy through electronic gems tinted with Maria Due’s vocals. The album is co-produced by Per Vigmostad form the legendary Oslo band King Midas.

As far as the lyrics go, ‘Cut & Run’ can probably best be described as a crossroads album.

Torgny elaborates: “I’m not in my twenties anymore and the album is characterized by the feeling of living in a grown up reality, while at the same time feeling like a kid. The majority of the songs are about time passing by quickly, loss, and the ever changing swing of things that sometimes even happens without oneself noticing it.”

The political situation in Europe and in other parts of the world has also made its mark on ‘Cut & Run’.

“The whole process of making this album started in early 2015, around the time of the Charlie Hebdo attacks in Paris. I woke up and felt like I was living in a new kind of Europe. At the same time I felt that these terrorists aren’t necessarily monsters, but that their behaviour stems from a deep sense of alienation and masculine issues. And various issues of different kinds are definitely something that has seeped into my songs”.

The visuals for the album is a collaboration with artist Willibald Storm. And the two music videos released from the album until now can be seen here:


Tracklist ‘Cut & Run’:

1. Ghost

2. Peacock (feat. Maria Due)

3. Sunday Rain

4. Storm Chaser (feat. Maria Due)

5. Dreams

6. All The Scars

7. Into The Night (feat. Maria Due)

8. LSD

9. Elegy For Hassan


All songs written by  Torgny Amdam

Produced by: Torgny Amdam and Per Vigmostad

Mixed by: Matthew Weiss

Mastered by: Chris Sansom

Previous post
Daniel Martin Moore’s new single ‘Consider The World’ streaming now
Next post
R.L. Boyce - Master of Mississippi Hill Country Blues releases debut album Roll and Tumble + drops first track

Avant-pop artist Torgny premieres new video ‘Into The Night’ via Nowness