Built To Spill live w/ Disco Doom in London next week?

Built To Spill live w/ Disco Doom in London next week?


Announce Numerals LP for UK release on December 4th via Exploding in Sound / ADA

EU support tour announced with Built To Spill

UK dates begin at London’s Electric Ballroom, November 25th

www.discodoom.net | www.facebook.com/discodoom

“a lullaby that dissolves and then evaporates before you even have time to put together what just happened.” Pitchfork

“shifting from hook-filled rock to pastoral psychedelia, eventually hitting a full-on noise assault.” Stereogum


Disco Doom is the noise-rock project of Zurich-based Gabriele De Mario (lead vocals, guitar) and Anita Rufer (guitar, keys, vocals). Their new album, Numerals, is due for release in the UK on December 4th via Exploding in Sound / ADA.


Following the experimental noise of 2010’s Trux Reverb, Numerals sees Disco Doom’s most sinister exertions fused with the gentle guitar anthems and song-writing of their far-earlier works. The result is a record that is as equally delicate as it is forthright. A suite comprised of movements that evolve and grow with repeated listens, if Trux Reverb pushed structures to explode, Numerals offers a culmination of Disco Doom’s entire history, energy and moods of all their previous incarnations.


Speaking of motorik tracks like ‘Love 77’ and ‘Dead Eye’ Gabriele and Anita explain, “the album is a story of both love and despair. The numbers resonate as memories of stations in life, deepening and blurring with them”. Meanwhile the sweet inception of tracks like ‘Rice & Bones’ offer textural noise spikes across themes of “travelling and arriving at the same time”.


Working together since the late 90s writing and recording relentlessly, and touring with the likes of Dinosaur Jr, Built To Spill, Lou Barlow and numerous other heavy-hitters, in 2012 De Mario and Rufer travelled together to New York City for an extended stay to write Numerals before heading to Seattle to record it with Built To Spill guitarist Jim Roth and former/founding member Scott Plouf, to play drums on the record. Now joined by Flo Götte (bass) and Tobias Schramm (drums) this coming November will see Disco Doom join Built To Spill on the road again through Europe, catch them in the UK on the four dates below.


First released via Exploding In Sound in the US, Numerals gets its first UK release on December 4th via Exploding in Sound / ADA. Order the album here



November tour dates w/ Built To Spill


25 London, Electric Ballroom

26 Brighton, Concorde 2

27 Glasgow, Art School

28 Leeds, Brudenell Social Club


Numerals track listing / artwork:


1. Ex Teenager

2. Zonk

3. Fraction

4. Dead Eye

5. Shannon

6. Window

7. Rice & Bones

8. Love 77

9. Fireplace

10. Diamond Corner

11. Rock Yeah

12. Wanna go to Rockaway Beach


Disco Doom are: Gabriele De Mario (lead vocal/guitar), Anita Rufer (guitar/vocals/keys), Flo Götte (bass) & Tobias Schramm (drums).

Previous post
Dirty Streets Premiere New Album "White Horse"
Next post
Swedish duo Swim share debut single 'Next To Me'

Built To Spill live w/ Disco Doom in London next week?