Cheatahs / release their debut album and unveil video for new single ‘Get Tight’

Cheatahs / release their debut album and unveil video for new single ‘Get Tight’

Cheatahs’ long-awaited debut album, released this week on Wichita Recordings, has been receiving massive acclaim everywhere from The Times to Pitchfork, and as such we’re delighted to announce a new European headline tour and shows with US giants Cloud Nothings in May (full listings below).

Cheatahs’ debut album is first and foremost an exploration of the possibilities of modern guitar music. A blend of ecstatic noise, ambient drone and visceral, ear-splitting alt-rock, combined with lyrics that touch on the complexities of relationships, nature, the city, memory, dislocation and self-identity. The self-titled record displays a giant creative leap from the lo-fi fuzz of the band’s first two EPs.

Watch the video for Cheatahs’ new single ‘Get Tight‘, which is set for release on 24th February, on youtube here.



But let’s start from the beginning. The London based band came together when Nathan Hewitt (vox, guitar), originally from Edmonton, Canada, and James Wignall (guitar, vox), originally from Leicester, met 7 years ago while both working in a pub in Camden and bonded over a shared love of Seinfeld and hardcore punk. Despite both friends playing in various bands over the next few years, it was only in 2010 that the two decided to finally make music together. After writing a handful of songs, they asked friends Marc Raue, originally from Dresden, and Dean Reid, from San Diego, USA to join them on drums and bass respectively.

For an album influenced by everything from Link Wray to Cy Twombly – influences as scattered as the band members’ geography – the result is a cohesive behemoth, 12 tracks of raucous guitars, breathy vocals, and honey-dripped, soaring melodies.

Cheatahs live listings:


12 – Birthdays (NME Awards), London

13 – Banquet Records/New Slang, Kingston

15 – The Harley, Sheffield

16 – Prince Albert, Brighton

17 – Brudenell Social Club, Leeds

18 – Broadcast,  Glasgow

19 – East Village Arts Club, Liverpool


9 – Hafenklang, Hamburg Germany

10 – Urban Spree, Berlin Germany

11 – Re, Krakow Poland

15 – Freakout Club, Bologna Italy

16 – Lo-Fi Club, Milan Italy

18 –  Sala Stereo, Alicante Spain

19 – La (2) Apolo, Barcelona Spain

20 – Festival MU, Dijon France

25 – La Peniche, Lille France


19 – Melkweg, Amsterdam Netherlands (With Cloud Nothings)

20 – La Fleche, Paris France (With Cloud Nothings)

22 – Deaf Institute, Manchester (With Cloud Nothings)


22 – Best Kept Secret Festival Netherlands


9 – Beacons Festival UK

Watch the band playing a series of tracks from the album (‘Get Tight’, ‘Fall’, ‘Geographic’ and ‘Kenworth’)  live at Dropout Studios, below.

Praise for ‘Cheatahs’:

“‘Cheatahs’ is a gleaming pop wrecking ball taken to the sonic cathedral” – NME

“Fans of Teenage Fanclub and US slacker rock will fall head over heels for the latest Wichita signings- young Londoners with a love of fuzzed up guitars.” The Times

“Cheatahs have certainly delivered on the promise suggested by their stellar early EP’s” – The Line Of Best Fit

“What permeates all of it, though, is the genuinely overwhelming energy of youth – something that so many of their contemporaries lack.” – Drowned in Sound


Previous post
Next post
THE BUNNY THE BEAR Premiere “High Tides And Swimming Conditions” on Under The Gun Review

Cheatahs / release their debut album and unveil video for new single ‘Get Tight’