Death And Vanilla reveal new track from EP out 21st August

Death And Vanilla reveal new track from EP out 21st August

Death And Vanilla reveal new track from EP

‘California Owls’ out 21st August

Please stream and share ‘Follow The Light’ below

Photo credit: Simon Fernandez

September/October EU Tour update:

15 Sep: Hafenklang, Hamburg, Germany

16 Sep: ACUD, Berlin, Germany

17 Sep: Incubate, Tilburg, Netherlands

18 Sep: Espace B, Paris, France

19 Sep: Levitation Psych Fest, Angers, France

26 Sep: Liverpool Psych Fest, Liverpool, UK

27 Sep: Broadcast, Glasgow, UK

29 Sep: Corsica Studios, London, UK

23 Oct: Six DOGS Athens, Greece

24 Oct: Xilourgeio, Thessaloniki, Greece

Dreamy Swedish indie rock that floats by on clouds of harpsichord and reverbNPR

NPR – favourite songs of 2015 here!
Sweet psychedelic pop from your new favourite Swedes.. nocturnal track, California Owls is hypnotic, this is dream pop at its absolute best.” i-D
California Owls” could almost be Beach House. At least until it descends into a two-minute cascade of bird noises. Enchanting stuff.” Loud & Quiet
Nilsson’s vocals bob in an ocean of reverb on ‘California Owls’ evoke everything from Czech cinema soundtracks to The Velvet Underground channelled through their uniquely distorted lens Clash
California Owls,” a tidy three and a half minutes of airy-pop gorgeousness followed by two more combining chirping birds and tones reminiscent of a distant calliope amidst the reliable retro-futurism.” The Vinyl District

Following the success of their critically acclaimed ‘To Where The Wild Things Are’ released in May, Death And Vanilla return with EP ‘California Owls’.

Hear ‘Follow The light’

Forming in Malmö, Sweden by Marleen Nilsson and Anders Hansson, Death and Vanilla utilise vintage musical equipment such as vibraphone, organ, mellotron, tremolo guitar and moog, to emulate the sounds of 60s/70s soundtracks, library music, German Krautrock, French Ye-ye pop and 60s psych. They revel in the warmth of older analogue instruments to create a more organic sound, each loose wire and off-kilter noise adding to the rich atmosphere. Creating deliciously enticing soundscapes, full of moody moogs and breathless vocals, their influences are as diverse as their music.

Passionate about the culture of the 60s/70s, Death And Vanilla have the retro-futuristic edge of Broadcast with Stereolab leanings and the electronic library sounds of the BBC Radiophonic Workshop. Opulent and timeless, ‘California Owls’ is a reverb soaked spectral-pop song drenched in 60s-psych while the dark and swirling melodies of ‘Follow The Light’ has a ‘Walk Away Renee pace’ (Guardian).

Their new EP brings together old songs with the new, much like the samples and the instruments they use, whilst capturing the haunting and wild dreamy experimental edge of ‘To Where The Wild Things Are’.
Following a run of UK successful live dates in Spring 2015 including Rough Trade East, the formidable trio will tour the UK and Europe in September with performances at this year’s Incubate (Tilburg), Liverpool Festival Of Psychedelia (UK) and Levitation Psych Fest (France).
Death And Vanilla are Marleen Nilsson, Anders Hansson and Magnus Bodin.

1. California Owls
2. Follow the Light
3. Erté
4. Reality From Dream

Pre-order on Fire Records

Previous post
Palehound "Healthier Folk" Drops w/ SPIN, Nat'l Tour Kicks Off 7/25 in NYC, Debut LP Out 8/14 via Exploding In Sound
Next post
Schmieds Puls single/video, new album soon!

Death And Vanilla reveal new track from EP out 21st August