Def Leppard – And There Will Be A Next Time – Live From Detroit (2CD+DVD via Eagle Rock Entertainment)

Def Leppard – And There Will Be A Next Time – Live From Detroit (2CD+DVD via Eagle Rock Entertainment)

British rock legends Def Leppard release this new live package and shows the band are still in fine and rocking form. Formed in Sheffield in the late 70s, Def Leppard were originally associated with the New Wave of British Heavy Metal, albeit at the more melodic end. Now, with 10 studio albums behind them, the band have conquered the world and have several Gold, Platinum and even Diamond (10x Platinum in the USA) sales awards. There have been a couple of line-up changes along the way, with only vocalist Joe Elliot and bassist Rick Savage the surviving original members.

This live album captures the band back at their rocking best in the motor city, Detroit, part of the 55+ date summer 2016 tour of the US, still promoting their 2015 eponymous set. Their third live outing, it comes in both audio and video formats.

Kicking off with the latest album’s opening track, it’s a big stage set, big light show, Def Leppard have been geared to the American market in musical style and performance for a long time now (as shown with their Las Vegas DVD a few years ago). The large screen at the back of the stage adds to the effect too.

The set is also very hit friendly, and beyond the current album which gets a good airing (and well worth it is too), there a number of tracks from 1987’s Hysteria (an album that itself produced six hit singles); ‘Animal’ goes down with the frantic crowd and rightly so.

Pyromania’s ‘Foolin’’ is nicely introduced (talking to the crowd seriously absent on that aforementioned Las Vegas release), and with his stage mannerisms, clapping and waving his arms, Elliot is ever the good frontman as shown on this is a seriously rocking track. Both Vivian Campbell (ex Whitesnake, Thin Lizzy, Sweet Savage) and Phil Collen (ex Girl) provide many a decent riff and lots of backing vocals.

Hysteria’s title track shows harmony in both vocals and guitars; while it’s easy for fans of the early (more NWoBHM tinged) material to knock the commercial sounding hits, there’s some fantastic hard rock here, the twin guitars working as well now as when the band formed.

The early hit ‘Bringing on The Heartache’ goes down a storm, and the drummer Rick Allen always gets a warm reception.

Two tracks from Pyromania close the set and please the rabid crowd, the band and audience sweaty alike.

If only Phil Collen would put a shirt on and we’d be sorted.

A bonus on the DVD/blu-ray is official videos to three of the new tracks.

Great. Simple.


Joe Geesin


Def Leppard are

Joe Elliott (vocals)

Phil Collen (guitar)

Vivian Campbell (guitar)

Rick Savage (bass)

Rick Allen (drums)

Image result for def leppard - and there will be a next time – live from detroit (



01 – Let’s Go

02 – Animal

03 – Let It Go

04 – Dangerous

05 – Foolin’

06 – Love Bites

07 – Armageddon It

08 – Rick Savage Bass Solo/Rock On

09 – Man Enough


01 – Rocket

02 – Bringin’ On The Heartbreak (electric)

03 – Switch 625 (Instrumental)

04 – Medley: Hysteria/Heroes (David Bowie)

05 – Let’s Get Rocked

06 – Pour Some Sugar On Me

07 – Rock Of Ages

08 – Photograph

Previous post
The Quireboys - Fully Plugged UK Tour Takes Off In March 2017
Next post
BELLHOUND CHOIR To Release Brand New Album

Def Leppard – And There Will Be A Next Time – Live From Detroit (2CD+DVD via Eagle Rock Entertainment)