The Deslondes share full album stream for Hurry Home via Noisey and reveal video for "(This Ain’t A) Sad Song"

The Deslondes share full album stream for Hurry Home via Noisey and reveal video for "(This Ain’t A) Sad Song"

The Deslondes

New album Hurry Home out this Friday 23 June via New West Records

Hurry Home named “One Of The Best Albums Of 2017 Thus Far” by Uncut Magazine

Noisey streams full album ahead of release

Watch video for “(This Ain’t A) Sad Song” here:

“An endless mutating treat from dawn til dusk.” Uncut

The Deslondes
are set to return with their second album Hurry Home this Friday, June 23rd via New West Records. The 13-song set continues their studied and inventive take on New Orleans country and R&B but also represents a sonic shift with a more electrified sound. Long combining elements of early Stax, Sun, and Atlantic Records with the influence of a more raw, stripped-down sound gleaned off field recordings from Alan Lomax and the Mississippi Records catalog, the band have now incorporated psychedelic flourishes that bring to mind the sonic experimentation of Joe Meek, Lee Hazlewood and The Velvet Underground.

Lauded as “burgeoning stars” by The New York Times, Hurry Home is the follow-up to the band’s critically acclaimed 2014 eponymous debut that NPR Music called “energized, elegant and new,” and Pitchfork awarded a 7.9 rated review stating that it “introduces a band that sounds confident and fully formed.” For Hurry Home, the band split up songwriting and lead vocal duties among its five members, Sam Doores, Riley Downing, Dan Cutler, John James Tourville, and Cameron Snyder, continuing its democratic ethos and musical versatility.

Noisey is streaming the album in full ahead of its release, stating “The self-described Americana band takes Woodie Guthrie-inspired folk techniques and blends it with harder riffs and psychedelic rock. The Deslondes have found a comfortable sound to create art in, and it serves them well.” The Boot also premiered the video for album track “(This Ain’t A) Sad Song” this week here and Hurry Home appeared on Uncut Magazine’s “Best Albums of 2017: Halftime Report” before even being released. American Songwriter previously premiered the video for the song “Hurricane Shakedown,” calling it “a nifty rockabilly number sure to get your feet moving,” which can be seen Here while Rolling Stone Country premiered the video for the album opener “Muddy Water.”
Named after the street in the Holy Cross neighborhood of New Orleans where the band first came together, The Deslondes have continued to tour relentlessly since Doores and Cutler departed their roles in Hurray For The Riff Raff to focus entirely on the band. The Deslondes met up last winter at New West Records’ studio and rehearsal space in Athens, GA., and recorded everything for five days, working out new songs and arrangements. With a batch of 20 new songs, they invited their longtime producer & engineer Andrija Tokic (Alabama Shakes, Benjamin Booker) to New Orleans to begin tracking that summer, creating a makeshift recording studio at The Tigermen Den in the Bywater neighborhood. The album that emerged was Hurry Home. “It’s a fitting title for this album because our lives and our songwriting revolve around leaving and returning, or searching for, home,” says the band. “And home can be a physical place, a relationship, or a state of mind.”
Recordings from the early sessions, including “Just In Love,” “Muddy Water,” and “Better Be Lonely,” bear the mark of a hot New Orleans summer: a lack-of air conditioning, and creaky wood floors, which yield a languid, dreamy sound. Elsewhere on the New Orleans sessions is the feel of the city’s classic R&B, music made for dancing like “Sad Song” and “Hurricane Shakedown.” Over several sessions back at Tokic’s Nashville studio during the Fall of 2016, The Deslondes finalized the album, pushing their sound forward with new tracks like “Nelly” and the gospel-influenced title track. Downing’s songs bookend the album: the wistful opener, “Muddy Water,” recalling the “small town kids” of his Missouri childhood; and the closing ballad, “Déjà Vu And A Blue Moon,” which he says is “an ode to those who’ve spent a lot of time on the road, and maybe they always will.” A must-see live act, The Deslondes have toured the country extensively and have supported the Alabama Shakes, Hurray For The Riff Raff, The Lumineers, John Fullbright, Michael Kiwanuka and more.

1. Muddy Water
2. One Of These Lonesome Mornings
3. (This Ain’t A) Sad Song
4. She Better Be Lonely
5. Every Well
6. Ribbon Creeks Collide
7. Hurry Home
8. Nelly
9. Hurricane Shakedown
10. Just In Love With You
11. Many Poor Boy
12. Beautiful Friend
13. Déjà Vu And A Blue Moon

Previous post
Joan Osborne | Announces Bob Dylan covers album & shares first single ‘High Water’
Next post
Lauryn Hill - 'The Miseducation of Lauryn Hill' LP out July 3rd

The Deslondes share full album stream for Hurry Home via Noisey and reveal video for "(This Ain’t A) Sad Song"