Enuff Z’Nuff – Clowns Lounge (released 2 Dec 2016 via Frontiers)

Enuff Z’Nuff – Clowns Lounge (released 2 Dec 2016 via Frontiers)

Formed in Illinois in 1984, Enuff Z’Nuff were at the forefront of the 80s glam metal scene, and in their over 30 year career have mixed in power pop and hard rock. A lot of tours, 12 studio albums and several live and compilation releases, this new album features late 80s demos and unreleased songs that have been remastered and in some cases reworked.

As opener ‘Dog On A Bone’ shows, it’s not quite the party metal glam bands were best known for, it’s a little chunkier but still thoroughly enjoyable, and ‘Runaway’ has its dark moments while still being catchy. ‘Back In Time’ is a little more uplifting with sleazy guitar and vocals. It’s easy to see why the band were big 25-30 years ago, it was a very big wave they strove to be on the crest of, sometimes getting very close to the pinnacle.

There’s some excellent metal here, the performance and sound throughout is great, but given that it’s a reworking of material that’s over 25 years old, it’s Championship rather than Premiership material. 7/10

Joe Geesin


1. “Dog On a Bone”

2. “Runaway”

3. “Back in Time”

4. “She Makes It Harder”

5. “Rockabye Dreamland”

6. “The Devil of Shakespeare”

7. “Radio”

8. “Good Luv”

9. “Round and Round”

10. “Nothing”

11. “Backstreet Kidz”

12. “One More Hit”

Enuff Z’nuff Current line-up
Chip Z’nuff – Singer, electric bass, guitar
Tony Fennell – Electric guitar, vox
Tory Stoffregen – Lead guitar, vox
Erik Donner – Drums, percussion, vox


Album line-up

Donnie Vie – Vocals, Guitars, Piano

Chip Z’Nuff – Vocals, Bass Guitar

Derek Frigo – Lead Guitar

Vikki Foxx – Drums

Jani Lane – Lead vocals on Track 6

James “JY” Young – Lead guitar on Track 6

Ron Flynt – Keyboards on Track 6

Johnny Monaco – Vocals on Track 6

Previous post
Deep Purple, one announce ‘inFinite’ The Goodbye Tour
Next post
Night Ranger - 35 Years And A Night In Chicago 2CD+DVD (Out 2 Dec via Frontiers)

Enuff Z’Nuff – Clowns Lounge (released 2 Dec 2016 via Frontiers)