Eric CLAPTON Live in San Diego (with special guest JJ Cale) (DVD via Reprise Records)

Eric CLAPTON Live in San Diego (with special guest JJ Cale) (DVD via Reprise Records)

Much has been written about the guitar god and legend that is Clapton, and rightly so. His 60s work with the Bluesbreakers, the Yardbirds and Cream was ground breaking and legendary, music etched in the stone of blues and rock for all time. Clapton’s subsequent solo work (which would include Derek & The Dominos, as good as solo by another name) has reached equal highs and the man is still going, playing with some greats along the way.

The set list here runs like a greatest hits, with tracks to please many.

A far cry from the blistering Cream days (daze?), the music is at times the MOR side of blues rock, but from the outset Clapton’s guitar is standing out.

The opening track sees an enthusiastic crowd and it’s one of many great melodies here. And while the lead may be split, it is Clapton’s soloing that still shines. Mix that with a touch of slide and it’s totally rocking.

After covering many a JJ Cale song over the years, the two have started collaborating and they work well off each other here.

To add to the star-studded feel, guitarist Derek Trucks’ legacy includes the Allman Brothers.

With tracks like Cocaine and Layla, it’s a wonderful concert, and while the sound is excellent the photography is, at times (certainly the shots from the audience) are amateurish.

Closing the set with the excellent Crossroads, featuring JJ Cale, rounds of a decent set. 7.5/10

Joe Geesin

Track List

  1. Tell The Truth
  2. Key To The Highway
  3. Got To Get Better In A Little While
  4. Anyday
  5. Anyway The Wind Blows
  6. After Midnight
  7. Who Am I Telling You
  8. Don’t Cry Sister
  9. Cocaine
  10. Motherless Children
  11. Little Queen Of Spades
  12. Further On Up The Road
  13. Wonderful Tonight
  14. Layla
  15. Crossroads


  1. Anyway The Wind Blows
  2. Who Am I Telling You


Eric Clapton (guitar and vocals)

JJ Cale (guitar and vocals, tracks 5,6,7,8,9)

Doyle Bramhall (guitar)

Derek Trucks (slide guitar)

Willie Weeks (bass)

Steve Jordon (drums)

Chris Stainton (keyboards)

Michelle John (backing vocals)

Sharon White (backing vocals)

Robert Cray (guitar & vocals, track 15)

Previous post
Anathema premiere first track from 'The Optimist' / Headline European tour confirmed
Next post
State Champs announce deluxe DVD edition of their latest album 'Around The World and Back'

Eric CLAPTON Live in San Diego (with special guest JJ Cale) (DVD via Reprise Records)