Field Music share "Count It Up"

Field Music share "Count It Up"




Field Music, helmed by Peter and David Brewis, recently announced details of their sixth album Open Here (released 2nd February 2018 on Memphis Industries).

Today, they have shared the album’s first single “Count It Up”. The song was written on David Brewis‘ young son’s toy keyboard in the wake of the Brexit vote and recalls artists like Talking Heads, Prince (who was a vocal Field Music fan), and Madonna, while examining the unacknowledged privilege that underpins the recent wave of xenophobic political movements in Britain and around the world.

David Brewis: “I’ve been down and angry about the state of everything lately. Our town (Sunderland) has become infamous in that it was the first place that voted for Brexit, and that threw into really stark relief loads of fears I have about where we live. It’s been a downtrodden place for quite a long time and people look for someone to blame.”

“I went through a period not long after the global financial crisis when I read a lot about economics,” he continues. “There’s a section in a book by Joseph Stiglitz called Making Globalisation Work about how those on the right hand side of the political spectrum tend to ascribe their fortunes entirely in the frame of their own talents. If somebody is poor it’s because they’re stupid, and if I’m rich it’s not because my parents gave me a great start in life, or money, or a great education, it’s because I’m talented and brilliant. I think all of that fed into this howl of rage set to what’s basically my version of ‘Material Girl.'”

The two years since Commontime have been strange and turbulent. If you ever thought the world made some kind of sense, you may have questioned yourself a few times in the past two years. And that questioning, that erosion of faith – in people, in institutions, in shared experience – runs through every song on the new Field Music album.

The brother’s studio, on the banks of the river Wear, became a sanctuary away from everything political and personal, a cocoon of creativity. And conversely, making the album became an alternative way to connect to people, with a wide array of musicians invited to leave their mark, notably Sarah Hayes on flute and piccolo, Liz Corney on vocals, Pete Fraser on saxophone, Simon Dennis on trumpet and flugelhorn, a Cornshed Sisters choir and the regular string quartet of Ed Cross, Jo Montgomery, Chrissie Slater and Ele Leckie.

The result is a record that is bigger in scale, grander than anything they’ve done before. David Brewis explains, “where Commontime felt like a distillation of all of the elements that make up Field Music, this feels like an expansion; as if we’re pushing in every direction at once to see how far we can go”.


Open Here is available to pre-order on transparent 180g vinyl, CD and cassette from Limited edition bundles including signed test pressings, tea towels and five postcard sets are available.


Field Music have also just announced a series of UK & EU shows for 2018. The dates include special nights at the Barbican, London and The Northern Stage, Newcastle with strings, horns, woodwind and assorted percussion provided by the Open Here Orchestra.


Field Music 2018 live dates

02 Feb – Newcastle, Northern Stage

03 Feb – Newcastle, Northern Stage – Matinee Show

03 Feb 2018 – Newcastle, Northern Stage

08 Mar 2018 – Brighton, Komedia

09 Mar 2018 – Bristol, The Lantern

10 Mar 2018 – Southampton, Engine Rooms

11 Mar 2018 – Exeter, Phoenix

15 Mar 2018 – Birmingham, 02 Institute 2

16 Mar 2018 – Manchester, Gorilla

17 Mar 2018 – Glasgow, Saint Luke’s

22 Mar 2018 – Liverpool, Arts Club

23 Mar 2018 – Sheffield, Foundry

24 Mar 2018 – Norwich, The Waterfront

25 May 2018 – London, Barbican with the Open Here Orchestra

05 Apr 2018 – Antwerp, Trix

06 Apr 2018 – Amsterdam, Melkweg

07 Apr 2018 – Paris, Flow


Field Music just one shows left this year: the Us Vs Them event in Leeds this Saturday, which they have have curated…

02 Dec 2017 – Leeds, Us Vs Them @ Brudenell Social Club, Leeds (with C Duncan, Dutch Uncles et al)


Over thirteen years and six albums, Field Music have managed to carve a niche where all of these sounds can find a place; a place where pop music can be as voracious as it wants to be. Field Music will be touring as a seven piece with core live players Kev Dosdale (guitar), Andrew Lowther (bass), Liz Corney (vocals and keys) plus Damo Waters on percussion and Sarah Hayes on flute and keyboards.


Open Here album teaser video

Previous post
Luis Fonsi Earns A Total Of Three 2018 Grammy Award Nominations
Next post
Dita Von Teese Announces Debut LP Out February 2018 + Shares Track

Field Music share "Count It Up"