Fortuna POP! Label Mates Alldayer @ MOTH Club – Saturday 5th March

Fortuna POP! Label Mates Alldayer @ MOTH Club – Saturday 5th March

Fortuna POP! presents

The Spook School + Fever Dream + Evans The Death + Night Flowers + Pete Astor + Beds In Parks + Suggested Friends + Bleurgh

Saturday 5th March, Doors 3pm
Old Trades Hall
Valette Street
E9 6NU

Nearest train station: Hackney Central
Tel: 02089857963
Advance: £8 from We Got Tickets / £10 Door


The Spook School are Anna Cory (bass and vocals), Adam Todd (guitar and vocals), Nye Todd (guitar and vocals) and Niall McCamley (drums).  Since forming in 2012 they’ve become increasingly involved with the DIY queer punk scene, taking inspiration from the passionate, like-minded people they’ve met along the way, and from bands such as Martha, Joanna Gruesome, Trust Fund and Tuff Love. Citing influences including Buzzcocks, T-Rex and the noisier end of C86, their new album Try To Be Hopeful is louder, bolder, fuller-sounding and captures more of their live sound—aided and abetted by producer MJ of Hookworms.
Fun and empowering, Try To Be Hopeful is brim full of noisy, tuneful and triumphant queer pop songs about identity, sexuality and being It’s the sound of a band growing up, embracing their identities, and taking charge at the world. But amidst the fight for a place in society for everyone, there’s still time for love, friendship, and fun. With their bold, fizzy and electrifying anthems, The Spook School are the shot of optimism we’ve been hoping for.
Comprised of guitarist/vocalist Adey Fleet, bassist Sarah Lippett, and drummer Cat Loye, Fever Dream make music which stalks the unsettled territory between MBV and PiL: suffused with melody and discordance, unhinged. Via the twitching fragility and freneticism of Fleet’s guitar and vocals, Lippett’s stormy bass, and the propulsive dark heart that is Loye’s drumming, Fever Dream pitch tumultuous swathes of noise against irresistible pop hooks and gentle febrile tonality, arriving at a sound which sharply articulates a disorientating world of panic attacks, tender allegiances, and sweet perversions.

Feted for the urgency and unrest of their live presence, London three-piece Fever Dream have now committed their dark and brittle post-punk-shoegaze noise to tape in the form of debut album, Moyamoya, released last year by Club AC30. Intense, melodic and expansive, they are a real treat live and have really good hair.

Named after the undertaker in Dylan Thomas’s ‘Under Milk Wood,’ Evans the Death’s 2012 self-titled first album mixed Smiths-influenced indie with scratchy noise-pop topped by Katherine Whitaker’s striking vocals. The brilliant debut saw critical acclaim from Q, Uncut and Artrocker, and radio play on BBC Radio 1, BBC 6Music and XFM.
After a change in line-up, the band regrouped for the recording of ‘Expect Delays’, a more ambitious and focused record encompassing additional influences including shoegaze and indie-rock whilst sacrificing none of the band’s spontaneity and vitality. Their even-more-out-there third album will be released via Fortuna POP! in May of this year.
Five friends originally from Humberside who are now based in East London, they play melodic indie rock/pop music with a simultaneous surge of fuzzed guitars and harmonized vocals that recalls shoegaze without its defense mechanisms, or indiepop with more muscle.
Last year saw Night Flowers garner acclaim from the likes of NME, DIY, The Line Of Best Fit, 6 Music and Radio 1, plus road-miles alongside Swervedriver, The Pains Of Being Pure At Heart, The Magic Gang, Nai Harvest and Frankie & The Heartstrings. The band are currently writing and recording their debut album, to be released later in the year.

Indie auteur Pete Astor, previously of The Loft, The Weather Prophets, and other esteemed acts, released his most recent album “Spilt Milk” via Fortuna POP! in January of this year. It was recorded onto ½ inch tape at the home studio of James Hoare of Ultimate Painting, The Proper Ornaments and Veronica Falls, with James playing guitar, bass, drums, keyboards and singing backing vocals. The album has all the hallmarks of a future Pete Astor classic, drawing together key strands and tributaries of his work over the years, blending intuitive songwriting, acute lyrics and incisive melodies.
Spilt Milk is part of a continuum: from Astor’s beginnings with The Loft and The Weather Prophets on Creation Records in the 1980s, via his solo work through the 1990s and his more left field albums with The Wisdom of Harry and Ellis Island Sound on Matador Records, Heavenly and Peacefrog, through to his return to solo work with the Songbox album in 2012. As well as this ongoing musical activity, Astor is also Senior Lecturer at the University of Westminster, where he teaches, researches and writes about music; 2014 saw the publication of his study of Richard Hell and the Voidoids’ Blank Generation as part of Bloomsbury’s 33 1/3 Series.
London duo Beds In Parks, a collaboration consisting of The History of Apple Pie’s Joanna Curwood and Hatcham Social’s Finnigan Kidd with assorted wild-eyed randoms filling in on bass and drums, play hypnotic, rubberised rock ‘n’ roll, echoing the bands stated influences – The Breeders, The Vaselines and The Jesus and Mary Chain.  Their debut single‘Mabel (When It Gets Dark) is a seven minute masterpiece of simplicity – distorted and repetitive dual vocal lines drool over primitive rock ‘n’ roll chord structures.
New twee-pop-emo-country-punkers on the block Suggested Friends formed in late 2015 over a series of drinks that no one can remember and a long walk in the Peak District. Inspired by Mammoth Penguins and Trust Fund, since then they’ve been mostly singing songs about cats and micro-aggressions and they’re “lovin’ it’”.
Bleurgh are a Blur covers band featuring members of Allo Darlin’, Fever Dream, Night Flowers and Tigercats. Despite playing a storming set at the Fortuna POP! Winter Sprinter they’re still bottom of the bill as singer Tim… sorry, Damon… has to go to a wedding later.

Previous post
Lilith Ai 'Riot EP Deluxe' Out 4/15 via Lo Recordings, NYLON ‘Band Crush’ + “Riot” (Acoustic) Video Out Today!
Next post
Stream: Daniel Haaksman's new album 'African Fabrics'

Fortuna POP! Label Mates Alldayer @ MOTH Club – Saturday 5th March