Gary Numan Album: ‘Splinter (Songs From A Broken Mind)’ Lands October 14th 2013 on Mortal Records

Gary Numan Album: ‘Splinter (Songs From A Broken Mind)’ Lands October 14th 2013 on Mortal Records



On October 14th Mortal Records presents ‘Splinter’ (Songs From A Broken Mind), the inspired new album by pioneer, chart-topper and influential artist Gary Numan.

‘Splinter’ features guitarist Robin Finck (Nine Inch Nails, Guns N Roses), is produced by long-standing collaborator Ade Fenton, and will be followed by a full national headline tour in November.

The album finds Gary on fine dark electronic form; sounding both cutting-edge and classic Numan, it marks his best work since the late 70s, early 80s heyday.

‘Splinter’s opening gambit ‘I Am Dust’ is a statement of intent, combining heavy grind with his archetypal anthemic pop skills. The unsettling whispered verses, crunchy guitars and Hans Zimmer-esque strings on ‘Here In The Black’ create a sense of menace and drama, whilst more orchestral work adorns the cinematic ‘The Calling’.

Slower-burning ballads Lost’,Where I Can Never Be’ and ‘My Last Day’, highlight the album’s broad palate, adding elements of subtlety and even beauty in contrast to the album’s more aggressive moments.

Gary’s knack for sexy, idiosyncratic dancefloor killers is strongly evident on the pounding, growling throb of ‘Love Hurt Bleed’, whilst ‘Who Are You’ carries equal clout as-body-music-Numan-style – infectious, but sounding unlike anything else you might hear blasting from a soundsystem.

Although Numan released a straight-to-the-fanbase album ‘Dead Son Rising’ in 2011, this is his first self-penned full album since ‘Jagged’ in 2006.

In recent years he’s been quoted as an influence by everyone from Lady Gaga to Kanye West, Matthew Dear to Queens Of The Stone Age, The Foo Fighters, Nine Inch Nails, Prince and J Dilla, to Boyz Noise, Richie Hawtin and Battles (they released a single ‘My Machines’ on Warp Records with Numan in 2011).

But while Numan’s unique style continues to connect with fans from the worlds of metal, hip hop, electronica, industrial and indie, he remains as focussed as ever in pursuing his own singular vision. ‘Splinter’ sounds unique, while also utilising new sounds and ideas.

Perhaps it’s the voice – one of the most distinctive in music and often associated with machines and icy alienation, but for those who are drawn to Numan’s songs, his singing is strangely emotional, almost soulful in places. And if you like that side of his writing, you certainly won’t be disappointed with the new album, where there are several tracks that set Numan’s vocals against moody, atmospheric torch songs to stunning effect.

Stream ‘I Am Dust’

Gary Numan: Splinter UK Tour, November 2013

7th Bristol 02 Academy (£25)

8th Ireland Dublin Button Factory (25 Euros)

11th Sheffield 02 Academy (£25)

12th Newcastle 02 Academy (£25)

13th Glasgow 02 ABC (£25)

14th Manchester Academy (£27.50)

15th Oxford 02 Academy (£25)

16th London Roundhouse (£32.50)

18th Brighton The Dome (£25)

19 Wolverhampton Wulfrun Hall (£27.50)


Photography by LaRoache Brothers (Woolhouse Studios)


· “Gary Numan has written a couple of the finest things in British pop” David Bowie

· “There are still people trying to work out what a genius Gary Numan is” Prince

· “I was listening to Gary Numan and I ended up becoming more polished as a designer. I started to design my tracks” Kanye West

· “His influence on hip hop, while rarely recognised, is enormous. His influence on electronic music in general is unparalleled” NME

· “Seeing Gary Numan on Saturday Night Live was definitely one of the first things to turn me onto electronic music” Juan Atkins

· “Legend of British electronic music” FACT

· “Originator of synthesized electronic music” The Quietus

· “A synth pop prodigy” Noisey

· “His authoritative presence pervades punk, electro and new wave” Clash

· “Polyurethane pop glory” The Guardian

Previous post
Catfish And The Bottlemen New Single ‘Rango’ – September 16
Next post
Bad For Lazarus Announce the release of ‘BURNT!’

Gary Numan Album: ‘Splinter (Songs From A Broken Mind)’ Lands October 14th 2013 on Mortal Records