George Clinton announces planned retirement from P-Funk May of 2019

George Clinton announces planned retirement from P-Funk May of 2019

GEORGE CLINTON ANNOUNCES PLANNED RETIREMENT FROM P-FUNK MAY OF 2019

 

This has been coming a long time,” he states. “Anyone who has been to the shows over the past couple of years have noticed that I’ve been out front less and less. The shows have been great!”  Truth be told it’s never really been about me,” he continues. “It’s always been about the music and the band. That’s the real P-Funk legacy. They’ll still be funkin long after I stop.”

 

George Clinton & Parliament Funkadelic are now accepting offers for the 2019 edition of P-FUNK’s annual “Mardi Gras Madness” tour (Jan – March 2019).  Also plans are under way for the “One Nation Under a Groove” tour, which will be a once-in-a-lifetime sendoff for the group’s legendary founder and frontman, celebrating his legacy as a Grammy winning Rock and Roll Hall-of-Famer and Pop music icon.   Parliament Funkadelic will continue to tour into the future after May 2019.

AVAILABLE FOR SELECT AND ROUTED DATES

MARDI GRAS MADNESS: JAN – MAR 2019
ONE NATION UNDER A GROOVE: APRIL – MAY 2019

Current itinerary below:

Sat, Apr 28, 2018 – New York, NY – BB King Blues Club & Grill
Thu, May 3, 2018 – Bonita Springs, FL Southwest Florida Events Center
Fri, May 4, 2018 – Lake Buena Vista, FL – House of Blues Orlando
Sat, May 5, 2018 – Clearwater, FLCoachman Park
Sun, May 6, 2018 – New Orleans, LAHouse of Blues New Orleans
Thu, May 10, 2018 – Savannah, GAThe Stage on Bay
Fri, May 11, 2018 – Asheville, NC Salvage Station
Sat, May 12, 2018 – Portsmouth, VAPortsmouth Pavilion
Fri, May 25, 2018 – San Diego, CAThe Music Box
Sat, May 26, 2018 – Los Angeles, CAGreek Theater
Sun, May 27, 2018 – Santa Barbara, CASanta Barbara Bowl
Mon, May 28, 2018 – San Francisco, CA The Independent
Tue, May 29, 2018 – San Francisco, CA – The Independent
Sat, Jun 2, 2018 – Nelsonville, OH Hocking College Campus
Sat, Jun 16, 2018 – Hunter Mountain, NYHunter Mountain
Wed, Jun 20, 2018 – Glasgow, UKKelvingrove Bandstand
Fri, Jun 22, 2018 – Oslo, NorwayRockefeller
Sat, Jun 23, 2018 – Odense C, DK Musikhuset Posten
Sun, Jun 24, 2018 – Reykjavik, Iceland Laugardalur
Tue, Jun 26, 2018 – Hilversum, NLPodium De Vorstin
Wed, Jun 27, 2018 – Arnhem, NL Luxor Live
Thu, Jun 28, 2018 – Amsterdam, NLParadiso
Fri, Jun 29, 2018 – Lublin, PLEast of Culture Different Sounds Festival
Sat, Jun 30, 2018 – Brussels, BEColeur Cafe Festival
Sun, Jul 1, 2018 – East Sussex, UKLove Supreme Jazz Festival
Tue, Jul 3, 2018 – Paris, FRCasino De Paris
Fri, Jul 6, 2018 – Nottingham, UK Rock City
Sat, Jul 7, 2018 – Manchester, UKManchester Academy
Sun, Jul 8, 2018 – London, UK Roundhouse
Wed, Jul 11, 2018 – Interlochen, MI Kresge Auditorium
Thu, Jul 12, 2018 – Fort Wayne, IN The Clyde Theatre
Fri, Jul 13, 2018 – Kalamazoo, MI Bell`s Eccentric Cafe – Beer Garden
Sun, Jul 15, 2018 – Chicago, IL Grant Park
Tue, Jul 17, 2018 – Minneapolis, MN Varsity Theater
Thu, Jul 19, 2018 – Dayton, OHHollywood Gaming at Dayton Raceway
Fri, Jul 20, 2018 – Columbus, OH – Hollywood Casino Columbus Showroom
Sat, Jul 21, 2018 – Warren, OHPackard Music Hall
Sat, Jul 28, 2018 – Dillon, CO Dillon Amphitheater
Wed, Aug 1, 2018 – Ardmore, PA The Ardmore Music Hall
Thu, Aug 2, 2018 – Washington, DC930 Club
Fri, Aug 3, 2018 – New York, NY The Liberty Belle
Sat, Aug 4, 2018 – Beverly, MAThe Cabot Theater
Sun, Aug 5, 2018 – Newport, RIFort Adams State Park
Thu, Aug 9, 2018 – Knoxville, TN The Mill & Mine
Fri, Aug 10, 2018 – Jacksonville, NCThe Tarheel
Sat, Aug 11, 2018 – Richmond, VA Maymont Park
Thu, Aug 23, 2018 – Lexington, KY Lyric Theatre
Fri, Aug 24, 2018 – Arrington, VA Lockn’ Music Festival
Sat, Aug 25, 2018 – Cherry Creek, NYCockaigne Ski Resort
Sun, Aug 26, 2018 – Rochester, NY Frontier Field

The Hit List

Funkadelic – Ain’t That Funkin’ Kinda Hard on You? (Remix) ft. Kendrick Lamar, Ice Cube

KCRW – George Clinton With Parliament Funkadelic And Thundercat, Live In The Studio

George Clinton & Parliment Funkadelic

The Godfather of Funk

Think of George Clinton and you’ll likely conjure an image of a crazy black man with rainbow dreads and garb befitting a galactic shaman literally barking at phat bottomed girls with a sub-atomic “WOOF!” This lovable nutcase is the legendary and internationally renowned grandfather of funk and the founder of the Parliament-Funkadelic MOB, taking the sonic innovations of James Brown and Sly Stone to both outer space AND Neptune while selling millions of records and concert tickets in the process. Quiet as its kept, however, George Clinton’s initial approach to the ladies was crooning (when he wasn’t cutting hair) as the leader of a standup vocal group he formed in `55 called The Parliaments, emulating the doo wop and love songs that were popular when he was in diapers… [read more]

Previous post
New video: JONES 'How About That'
Next post
The Slits Doc US Tour Starts 5/5, Watch Bonus Scenes
Back
SHARE

George Clinton announces planned retirement from P-Funk May of 2019