Girl Ray share "Don’t Go Back At Ten"

Girl Ray share "Don’t Go Back At Ten"





Girl Ray, the North London trio comprising 19 year olds Poppy Hankin (guitar/vocals), Iris McConnell (drums) and Sophie Moss (bass), recently announced details of debut album Earl Grey (4th August, Moshi Moshi).

Today, they’ve shared a brand new single “Don’t Go Back At Ten”, a song about the enduring bonds of friendship.
Poppy Hankin: “After a break-up I was super low, and as clichéd and teen-movie as it sounds, it was truly my friends who got me through it, making sure that I didn’t just mope about the whole time eating pots of cottage cheese and crying. I guess I wrote this one to cheer myself up in a way. Not many of the songs on the album are happy but this one is, kinda!”

With the unveiling of a new single come news of the band’s debut headline tour. Having just played three times at the Glastonbury Festival, as well as supporting Whitney on a short UK jaunt earlier this month, Girl Ray are pleased to announce a full run of their own UK dates (and a performance at Latitude Festival).
See below for a full rundown of shows with new additions in bold, ahead of their already-announced show at The Scala, London on 9th November.


Girl Ray live
16 July – Latitude Festival
23 July – Truck Festival
29 July – Port Eliot Festival
11 Aug – Isle Of Wight Ventnor Festival
18 – 20 Aug – Green Man Festival
26 Aug – Sea Change Festival
03 Sept – End of The Road Festival
16 Sep – Good Life Festival
30 Oct – Liverpool – Liverpool Music Week
31 Oct – Leeds – Headrow House
01 Nov – Manchester – Gullivers
02 Nov – Glasgow – Broadcast
03 Nov – Newcastle – Think Tank Underground
05 Nov – Birmingham – Hare & Hounds
06 Nov – Oxford – The Cellar
07 Nov – Bristol – Louisiana
08 Nov – Brighton – Green Door Store
09 Nov – London, The Scala


About Girl Ray and Earl Grey

Girl Ray formed two years ago when the band were just 16 years old and in a twist of fate as symbolic as it was bittersweet, “Trouble,” their first single for Moshi Moshi, was recorded on what would have been their final day of school.

The band’s songs document the dramas of adolescence with a wit and wistfulness far beyond their years. Girl Ray are the sound of that uncertain period in everybody’s life when certain things start to loom large, when feels are felt more intensely than ever before, and when every decision seems like a fork in the road on your way to adulthood. Being a teenager is a crucible of heightened emotions and transformative confusion from which the ‘real’ you will ultimately emerge, having fallen in love (and out again), outgrown friendships you thought would last forever, and changed in ways you never thought possible. What does not typically emerge, however, is a debut album as richly evocative of the experience as Earl Grey.

Recorded with their friend (and now touring guitarist) Mike O’Malley over two “intense and insane” weeks at Ramsgate’s Big Jelly studios, Earl Grey is a record of invention and ambition, whose delicate, sun-dappled melodies dance around the inside of your skull like a flickering zoetrope of memories: some fond, others less so.


Earl Grey will be available on CD, LP and digital via Moshi Moshi on 4th August. Pre-order the album here.

Girl Ray Earl Grey tracklisting
1. Just Like That
2. Monday Tuesday
3. Stupid Things
4. Don’t Go Back at Ten
5. Cutting Shapes
6. Preacher
7. A Few Months
8. Earl Grey (Stuck in a Groove)
9. Where Am I Now
10. Stupid Things (reprise)
11. Ghosty
12. Waiting Ages


“Preacher” video

“Stupid Things” video
“Trouble” video

Previous post
NPR Debuts Siv Jakobsen Album Cut "Shallow Digger," Announces Debut LP 'The Nordic Mellow' Out 8/25
Next post
The Picturebooks announce Home is a Heartache Tour 2017

Girl Ray share "Don’t Go Back At Ten"