Girls In Hawaii New album ‘Everest’, Through Naïve Records on September 16th 2013

Girls In Hawaii New album ‘Everest’, Through Naïve Records on September 16th 2013

Girls In Hawaii will release their new album, ‘Everest’, on Naïve Records on September 16th 2013. The Belgian sextet’s first full release in the UK, the album will be preceded by a single, ‘Not Dead’, on August 12th.

Girls In Hawaii previously released two albums (‘From Here To There’ in 2003 and ‘Plan Your Escape’ in 2008), to not inconsiderable acclaim, in central Europe, but the tragic loss of drummer Denis Wielemans in a car accident in 2010 led them to take an extended break. After a couple of years’ silence, the band tentatively regrouped for a live show in 2012 at the Deep in the Woods Festival (Belgium) and, fired up with their live reunion, Girls In Hawaii set upon recording together again. They headed to an ancient Manoir near Paris, where they recorded a new album in three sessions and handed it over to the Grammy-winning producer Tchad Blake (The Black Keys, Gomez) this spring.

‘Misses’ just in case you forgot…

Drawing comparisons to the likes of Grandaddy and dEUS for their delicate and dreamy electronic indie, gently meandering single, ‘Misses‘, marked the start of an exciting new chapter in Girls in Hawaii’s history and was released online to coincide with the band’s UK appearances at The Great Escape in May. The new single, ‘Not Dead’, gives a further glimpse into this quite magical album.

Having recently played a handful of live dates in China, watch the film here:

Girls In Hawaii are now back in Europe playing a host of festivals including Montreux Jazz Festival (Switzerland), Pukkelpop (Belgium) and Reeperbahn (Germany) and will arrive on UK shores for a one off headline London show at Water Rats on September 17th, tickets.

The tracklisting for Everest is as follows:  The Spring; Misses; We Are The Living; Changes; Switzerland; Here I Belong; Not Dead; Mallory’s Height; Head On; Rorscharch; Wars

‘Not Dead’ will be released on August 12th as a bundle with the additional song, ‘Home’, which is taken from a deluxe version of the album, set to be released with a bonus CD of unreleased songs spanning the period from the band’s formation ten years ago to the present day.
Girls In Hawaii are: Antoine Wielemans, Lionel Van Cauwenberghe, Daniel Offerman, François Gustin, Brice Van Cauwenberghe, and Boris Gronemberger


Girls In Hawaii: official site, Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, downloadable press assets

Previous post
Greco-Roman announce 1st ever label compilation, 12th August, International Version (19th Aug)
Next post
JUVENILES new single ‘Fantasy’ out today July 22nd 2013

Girls In Hawaii New album ‘Everest’, Through Naïve Records on September 16th 2013