Grant Nicholas announces April 6th release of brand new mini-album

Grant Nicholas announces April 6th release of brand new mini-album

Grant Nicholas today announced the release of a companion piece to his recently released album ‘Yorktown Heights’. ‘Black Clouds’ is a six track mini-album recorded at his own Treehouse Studio’s in North London and shows a constantly evolving confidence and depth to Grant’s solo sound.

Grant addsI think sonically and lyrically there is a thread and it feels right that way as ‘Yorktown Heights’ is still very much alive. I approach lyrics like I imagine a film in my head or a script of some sort that is inspired by something or someone. The songs touch on general life, relationships, family, alienation etc. and I like to build characters into some of the songs also. If people can find a connection with the melody and words then that’s the key for me and I think those are the best songs.” “I have had a lot of fun writing and recording Black clouds and have also found working as a solo artist certainly pushes you to bare your soul and find new ways of approaching things”.

With many of the songs on ‘Black Clouds’ written during the ‘Yorktown Heights’ sessions, there’s continuity immediately evident – especially with the inclusion of the track ‘Joan of Arc’ on both records. ‘Black Clouds’ feels like a natural next step for Nicholas and ushers in more electronica to complement the timeless song-writing and classic acoustic landscapes that were seen in force on‘Yorktown Heights’.

I tried to make this album with a more old school, almost classic 60’s – 70’s sound and approach but also mixing it with some more modern sounds and textures to give it its own character and less of a straight retro feel. I want these songs to work around a camp fire, as well as on the Pyramid stage…..”.


Grant also has extensive touring activity coming up in support of his sublime debut, which will now also include a selection of songs from ‘Black Clouds’ to complement the live set.  Following an overwhelming reaction to the Autumn 2014 tour, Grant announced twelve more shows in the UK and Ireland with a European tour announced to precede the UK tour.

‘Yorktown Heights’ was Grant’s first solo album and was released via his own label Popping Candy in late summer 2014 and largely self-produced by Nicholas with additional production from Sam Miller and Brian Sperber (Julian Casablancas, Dinosaur Jr.) at Ansons Pocket Studio’s in Yorktown Heights – which eventually became inspiration for the album title. Both ‘Yorktown Heights’ and ‘Black Clouds’ are by Grant’s own admission, a love letter to the sound of Laurel Canyon in the 70’s, citing Tom Petty, Neil Young and Nick Drake as inspirations.

Grant has amassed eight gold and platinum records and 3 million album sales with Feeder. His second release as a solo artist, ‘Black Clouds’ continues his outpouring of very personal thoughts and again comes complete with cover art designed by his nine-year-old daughter Hana Sky.


2015 Europe and UK dates

09 Feb – Amsterdam, Paradiso

10 Feb – Frankfurt, Brotfabrik

12 Feb – Berlin, Private Club

13 Feb – Hamburg, Haus 73

15 Feb – Paris, Les Etoiles

20 Feb – Nottingham, Bodega

24 Feb – York, Fibbers

25 Feb – Norwich, Waterfront Studios

26 Feb – London, Bush Hall

28 Feb – Dublin, Whelans

01 Mar – Belfast, Limelight

03 Mar – Gloucester, Guildhall

04 Mar – Cambridge, Portland Arms

06 Mar – Stockton, Arc

07 Mar – Wolverhampton, Slade Rooms

‘Black Clouds’ is released on April 6th via Popping Candy Records ‘Yorktown Heights’ is out now

Previous post
Next post
Nic Hessler shares 'I Feel Again'

Grant Nicholas announces April 6th release of brand new mini-album