Green Man Rising 2016 Winner Announced – Tony Njoku

Green Man Rising 2016 Winner Announced – Tony Njoku


Green Man are delighted to announce that the winner of this year’s Green Man Rising Live Final is Tony Njoku! The British/Nigerian producer won over our judges with his heady mix of layered vocals and swirling electronica, to be crowned winner of this year’s competition.

Tony Njoku will now open the Mountain Stage at this year’s festival on Friday 19th August – the same stage that will later feature headline sets from Belle and Sebastian, James Blake and Laura Marling .

We were so impressed by each of the six finalists, that we’ve invited them all to play this year’s festival, having wowed our panel of industry judges that included Matt Wilkinson (NME / Beats), Paul Stokes (MOJO),

Laura Barton (The Guardian), Tom Ravenscroft (6music), Andy Cook (CAA), Jack Shankly (Domino Records / Weird World), Alice Hogg (United Talent Agency) and Green Man’s very own Ben Coleman.

Festival director Fiona Stewart commented – “Our 9th Green Man Rising competition proved to be one of our biggest, best and fiercest competitions yet. I want to thank all of the fantastic finalist bands, the judges and everyone who entered. We’re looking forward to see Tony Njoku kicking things off on the Mountain Stage this year!”

We are very grateful to Arts Council Wales and the PRS Foundation for their support of the 2016 Green Man Rising Competition.

About Green Man: Now in its 14th year, Green Man is the largest independent music, arts, beer, food and science festival in Wales. Held in the breath-taking surroundings of the Brecon Beacons. Confirmed to perform so far at this year’s festival are – Belle & Sebastian, Laura Marling, James Blake and Wild Beasts.


Shark Dentist

Already championed by the likes of Steve Lamacq and Huw Stephens, London quartet Shark Dentist make the kind of gleaming garage rock that holds a torch to yesteryear while ploughing, at break-neck speed, in to the future – all while seemingly having the time of their young lives.


An Anglo-Norwegian duo who met as students in Liverpool, Her’s have made a great splash with their two debut tracks, both released this year. Think sun-drenched guitars and Strokes-eseque, grainy vocals and you’ll be somewhere close. A very promising prospect indeed.

Oh Peas!

Cardiff’s perennial underdog, Oh Peas! has unveiled a string of releases since 2014’s wonderful ‘Shades Of Intolerance’ LP, and her recent ‘Difficult Second Chair’ album was further proof of the weird-and-wonderful alt-pop gems that Rosie Smith so delightfully dishes up. She is currently working on a collaboration with her musical hero Euros Childs.

Oh Sister

The solo project of London’s Sarah Berresford, Oh Sister became a fully-fledged band for the release of last year’s ‘Watch The Water’ EP. Crafting spellbinding, folk-like tales of love and loss, Berresford is a truly compelling songwriter with a suitably alluring voice to match.

Alone With Everybody

Often beautiful, always inventive, this French Brother/Sister duo make meticulous psych-pop that drifts between tender moments of escape and something far more energetic. Last year’s ‘In Sorrow Motion’ EP is a great starting point – soft, wistful vocals and numerous instrumental flourishes.

Tony Njoku

A British-Nigerian producer who makes strikingly evocative soundscapes, Njoku manages to make even the shortest pop songs sound like epic adventures. Heralded by FatCat Records, stand-out track ‘To Escape’ is a heady mix of layered vocals and swirling electronica.

Previous post
LISTEN: Boxed In Announces new album 'Melt' / Lead single 'Jist' available now
Next post
Hey Mercedes Announces Everynight Fire Works Re-Issue on Run For Cover Records

Green Man Rising 2016 Winner Announced – Tony Njoku