J. Roddy Walston & The Business New Album ‘Essential Tremors’ 10th March

J. Roddy Walston & The Business New Album ‘Essential Tremors’ 10th March

Listen to new track ‘Heavy Bells’
Bowery Ballroom Sold-Out & Letterman Performance

J. Roddy Walston & the Business release their new album ‘Essential Tremors’ through ATO Records on 10th March. Released in the US last month, the album was co-produced by Matt Wignall (Delta Spirit, Cold War Kids) and Mark Neill (The Black Keys) and recorded in Valdosta, Georgia. The band, who recently played a sold-out show at New York’s Bowery Ballroom, also made their first appearance on The Late Show with David Letterman a few weeks ago. Displaying trademark frenzied guitars, raw vocals and piano, listen to album track ‘Heavy Bells’ below…

J. Roddy Walston & The Business – Heavy Bells

Tucked away unassumingly in the town of Valdosta, Georgia is Soil of the South studios. Between meals of home cooked lasagna and restless nights on thin, spring-popped mattresses J. Roddy Walston & the Business was the first band ever to settle in there to record their new album.

No stranger to the south, lead vocalist, guitarist and pianist J. Roddy Walston was brought up in the southern church hometown of Cleveland, Tennessee before relocating to Baltimore where he made the acquaintance of lead guitarist and vocalist Billy Gordon, bassist and vocalist Logan Davis and drummer Steve Colmus, now collectively known as The Business.

‘Essential Tremors’, the band’s third release, is their most far-ranging and eclectic album to date. Their blend of classic rock & roll emphasised by rapturous hooks, riffs and rhythms, coupled with Motown flavour and funky charm brings out a pure Bacchanalian splendour. J. Roddy’s arresting voice and thumping piano playing travels directly from your eardrums to your bone marrow as he keens, croons and intones words and music that are at turns lunatic and mystic.  Their relentless touring and trademark spirited live performances have helped J. Roddy  Walston & The Business grow from a grass roots movement into a band with a loyal and expansive following.

Track listing:
1. Heavy Bells
2. Marigold
3. Take It As It Comes
4. Black Light
5. Sweat Shock
6. Nobody Knows
7. Hard Times
8. Boys Can Never Tell
9. Same Days
10. Tear Jerk
11. Midnight Cry


Previous post
BLAST UNIT MOSCOW ‘When The Music Is Over’ December 9th
Next post
DELTRON 3030 Headline show at the Scala, with 16-piece orchestra

J. Roddy Walston & The Business New Album ‘Essential Tremors’ 10th March