Jake Bugg Announces New Album & Solo Acoustic Tour

Jake Bugg Announces New Album & Solo Acoustic Tour

Jake Bugg ‘Hearts That Strain’

New Studio Album Out September 1st

Announces 15 Intimate Solo Shows


Jake Bugg releases his stunning new album ‘Hearts That Strain’, recorded in Nashville, September 1st on Virgin EMI. The first taste of which is the breezy single ‘How Soon The Dawn’, a collaboration with Dan Auerbach, and you can see the video for it here.

Working with Grammy Award winning producer David Ferguson and Matt Sweeney, Jake recorded the album in Nashville with some of the best players in the history of popular music.  As part of American Sound Studio’s legendary house band The Memphis Boys, Gene Chrisman and Bobby Woods provided the chops on such pivotal records as Dusty In Memphis, In The Ghetto, Suspicious Minds and Dark End Of The Street, cutting their teeth in sessions with Wilson Pickett, Aretha Franklin and Dionne Warwick


“They’re old guys but they’re amazing,” Jake says. “It was ten to five and then that’s it. They’d pack up and we’d done two or three tunes. It was a mad vibe being from England and meeting these absolute legends and then cutting some tracks with them.”


To coincide with the album’s release Jake plays ‘On Blackheath’ festival Sunday September 10th and will step out for an intimate solo acoustic tour taking in the following venues:



Sat 4th                        Bath, The Forum

Sun 5th                       Cardiff, St David’s Hall

Mon 6th                     Leicester, De Montfort Hall

Tue 7th                       Hull, City Hall

Thu 9th                        Cork, L St. Luke’s

Fri 10th                        Limerick, Dolans Pub

Sat 11th                      Galway, Black Box

Mon 13th                   Edinburgh, The Queen’s Hall

Tue 14th                     Forres, The Loft

Thu 16th                      Strathpeffer, Strathpeffer Pavilion

Fri 17th                        Perth, Inchyra

Sun 19th                     Stoke-on-Trent, Victoria Hall

Wed  22nd                 Bexhill, De La Warr Pavilion

Fri 24th                        Reading, Hexagon

Sat 25th                      Liverpool, Liverpool Philharmonic Hall 


Tickets on sale August 11th at 9am.


Alongside the single Dan Auerbach also played on shuffling rockabilly get-down I Can Burn Alone and In The Event Of My Demise, while rising star Noah Cyrus (younger sister of Miley) shares the vocals on one of the albums stand out moments ‘Waiting’.


As ever, Jake’s writing and singing shine on Hearts That Strain.

There’s a common thread running through its 11 songs, each one a gem waiting to be discovered.


Still only 23, Jake’s most recent album was last years acclaimed ‘On My One’, and it followed two multiplatinum selling albums his breakthrough self-titled debut and ‘Shang ri La’.


Full tracklisting for ‘Hearts That Strain’ below:


Track listing

1.    How Soon The Dawn

2.    Southern Rain

3.    In The Event Of My Demise

4.    This Time

5.    Waiting

6.    Man On The Stage

7.    Hearts That Strain

8.    I Can Burn Alone

9.    Indigo Blue

10.  Bigger Lover

11. Every Colour In The World


Previous post
Small Reactions Release Sophomore Album 'RXN_002', Available Now
Next post
Black Kids Release New Video Created by Kyp Malone (TV on the Radio)

Jake Bugg Announces New Album & Solo Acoustic Tour