The Jam ‘Setting Sons’ – Expanded 4 CD Super Deluxe and Deluxe Reissues for November + Ltd Edition Vinyl

The Jam ‘Setting Sons’ – Expanded 4 CD Super Deluxe and Deluxe Reissues for November + Ltd Edition Vinyl


Expanded 4 CD Super Deluxe and Deluxe reissues released November 17th

+ Limited edition vinyl featuring never before released The Jam Live in Brighton 1979

Polydor / Universal

The Jam’s 1979 masterpiece Setting Sons is being expanded and reissued on November 17th 2014 as super deluxe and deluxe editions which feature unreleased demos and live tracks. Setting Sons was originally conceived as a concept album that was never fully developed, about old friends reunited after many years to find they had nothing in common anymore. Brimming with brittle white knuckle rock music and muscular tracks boiling over with class hatred and spot on insights into British life, Setting Sons was arguably, the Jam’s most thematically ambitious LP Featuring a harder and grittier sound than it’s predecessor “All Mod Cons”, Setting Sons was recorded when Paul Weller was only 21, his songwriting showing an amazing level of maturity.

Thick As Thieves, Wasteland, Burning Sky: this idea may have seemed strange to the band’s hardcore fans, but had a precedent with some of Weller’s 60s heroes, notably The Kinks, Small Faces and The Who. Setting Sons took The Jam’s musical template and added a narrative depth and compositional daring which would take their art to a totally new level. The anti-war song Little Boy Soldiers, constructed in three parts, illustrates how the band were moving into a more experimental and ambitious style, whilst retaining the edge for which they were so famous.The album includes the hit single – The Eton Rifles and Bruce Foxton’s tour-de-force Smithers-Jones.

The Super-Deluxe box set traces the path of the classic album from initial demos, the two hit singles, ‘Strange Town’ and ‘When You’re Young’, that preceded the album; alternate versions of songs, dynamic live performances, singles and b-sides, through to the point in early 1980 where the Jam’s sound and success coalesced into ‘Going Underground’ – the  band’s first number 1 single, plus live material and DVD. Also available will be a highly collectable limited edition vinyl edition featuring The Jam live at the Brighton Centre from December 1979 which has previously never been released.

One of the most popular bands to emerge from the English punk rock scene of 1977; The Jam had a phenomenal impact on pop music and wider youth culture. In their short career, along with the Sex Pistols, The Clash, and Buzzcocks, they influenced a generation with their music, style, politics and inspiration. Taking creative direction from a wide sphere of influences – The Who, Dr Feelgood, The Kinks and Motown to name a few, they achieved 18 consecutive Top 40 singles in the UK (including 4 number 1s) – they had a fanatical following, their singles entering straight in the top 10, or number 1 in some cases. Their gigs sold out within minutes. Still beloved of original fans and new supporters through Paul Weller’s solo career – he still plays many of the Jam songs in his live sets today.

Four discs, in individual wallets
Disc 1 – The original album and singles /b-sides
•  The 1979 album remastered from the original analogue tapes
•  Also includes 8 non-album period singles and b-sides – Strange Town (UK top 20), The Eton Rifles (alt. single version, UK no. 3), When You’re Young (UK top 20) and Going Underground (UK No. 1), from early 1980

Disc 2 – The demos and extras
•  18 demos & alternate tracks, 14 previously unreleased, re-mastered
•  Also features the classic 4-track BBC John Peel session from 1979

Disc 3 – Live in Brighton 1979
•  20tracks, previously unreleased concert, re-mastered from Brighton Centre – December 1979.
•  A stunning set, with typical passion, their trademark ‘Fire & Skill’ from the band.
•  Includes 9 Setting Sons tracks

Disc 4 -The DVD EP
•  Features five promo video clips, six Top of the Pops performances and two clips from the BBC’s Something Else show.
Also features…

•  Hardback,70-page, full-colour book: including period memorabilia, magazine cuttings (NME etc.), reviews and rare photos from the album sleeve shoot
•  New interviews and essay.
•  Set of 4 prints
•  Replica 1979 tour brochure
•  Replica 1979 fan club magazine
•  Housed in rigid slipcase

Disc 1 – The Original Album
1.  Girl On The Phone
2.  Thick As Thieves
3.  Private Hell
4.  Little Boy Soldiers
5.  Wasteland
6.  Burning Sky
7.  Smithers-Jones
8.  Saturday’s Kids
9.  The Eton Rifles
10. Heat Wave
The Singles & B-Sides
11. Strange Town (single)
12. Butterfly Collector (b-side)
13. When You’re Young (single)
14. Smithers-Jones (single version)
15. The Eton Rifles (7” single version)
16. See-Saw (b-side)
17. Going Underground (single)
18. Dreams Of Children (b-side)

Disc 2 – The Demos and Extras
(All previously unreleased except where stated)
1.  Strange Town (alt.version)
2.  When You’re Young (alt.version)
3.  The Eton Rifles (demo) / (from ‘Extras’album)
4.  See-Saw (demo)
5.  Girl On The Phone (demo)
6.  Thick As Thieves (demo) / (from ‘Extras’album)
7.  Private Hell (demo)
8.  Little Boy Soldiers (demo)
9.  Wasteland (demo)
10. Burning Sky (demo)
11. Simon (demo)
12. Strange Town (demo)
13. The Butterfly Collector (demo)
14. Burning Sky (demo) / (from ‘Extras’album)
15. When You’re Young (demo)
16. Best Of Both Worlds(demo) / (from ‘Direction, Reaction, Creation’)
17. Along The Grove (demo)
18. The Eton Rifles (demo)
BBC – John Peel session, recorded 29/10/1979
19. Thick As Thieves
20. The Eton Rifles
21. Saturday’s Kids
22. When You’re Young

Disc 3 – Live at the Brighton Centre – December 1979#
1.  Introduction/ Girl On The Phone     3:21
2.  To Be Someone        2:15
3.  It’s Too Bad          3:16
4.  Burning Sky          3:27
5.  Away From The Numbers      4:03
6.  Smithers-Jones        3:22
7.  Little Boy Soldiers        3:24
8.  Strange Town         4:14
9.  Mr. Clean          3:46
10. The Butterfly Collector/ Private Hell   7:11
11. Thick As Thieves        4:17
12. When You’re Young        3:37
13. The Eton Rifles        4:13
14. Down In The Tube Station At Midnight  4:39
15. Saturday’s Kids        3:11
16. All Mod Cons          1:22
17. David Watts          4:30
18. The Modern World        2:17
19. Heatwave          1:33
20. ‘A’ Bomb In Wardour Street      3:37
# -previously unreleased

Disc 4 – The DVD EP
Promo videos:
1.  Strange Town
2.  Butterfly Collector
3.  When You’re Young
4.  Going Underground
5.  Dreams Of Children
BBC Top Of The Pops:
1.  Strange Town – 15/03/1979
2.  Strange Town – 05/04/1979
3.  When You’re Young – 23/08/1979
4.  The Eton Rifles – 01/11/1979
5.  The Eton Rifles – 15/11/1979
6.  Going Underground – 27/03/1980
Something Else (15/09/1979):
1.  The Eton Rifles
2.  When You’re Young

The Jam – Live at the Brighton Centre – December 1979
* 20 tracks, previously unreleased concert, re-mastered from Brighton Centre – December 1979.
* A stunning set, with typical passion, their trademark ‘Fire & Skill’ from the band,
* Includes 9 Setting Sons tracks – track-listing:

Disc One
Side 1
1. Introduction / Girl On The Phone 3:21
2. To Be Someone 2:15
3. It’s Too Bad 3:16
4. Burning Sky 3:27
5. Away From The Numbers 4:03
6. Smithers-Jones 3:22
Side 2
1. Little Boy Soldiers 3:24
2. Strange Town 4:14
3. Mr. Clean 3:46
4. The Butterfly Collector / Private Hell 7:11

Disc Two
Side 1
1. Thick As Thieves 4:17
2. When You’re Young 3:37
3. The Eton Rifles 4:13
4. Down In The Tube Station At Midnight 4:39
Side 2
1. Saturday’s Kids 3:11
2. All Mod Cons 1:22
3. David Watts 4:30
4. The Modern World 2:17
5. Heatwave 1:33
6. ‘A’ Bomb In Wardour Street 3:37

Previous post
Next post
World Premiere of Salad Days: A Decade of Punk In Washington, DC (1980-90) Announced

The Jam ‘Setting Sons’ – Expanded 4 CD Super Deluxe and Deluxe Reissues for November + Ltd Edition Vinyl