Jason McNiff shares psychedelic video for "Cairo (Stuck In The Past)",

Jason McNiff shares psychedelic video for "Cairo (Stuck In The Past)",

Jason McNiff

Reveals video for “Cairo (Stuck in the Past)”

Double CD retrospective anthology Rain Dries Your Eyes due out 28 April

Ahead of the release of his double CD retrospective anthology, Rain Dries Your Eyes, on 28 April, Jason McNiff shared this psychedelic video for a brand new track recorded especially for this release called “Cairo (Stuck In The Past)” with Shindig Magazine. McNiff says of the video: “I knew I wanted some footage of the good old Empire days, to tie in with the song’s hook, “Stuck in the Past”, but all credit to Bobby Klang who really is magic video maker”

Rain Dries Your Eyes spans more than 15 years and includes brand new tracks, previously unreleased material and songs from Jason McNiff’s six studio albums. The collection showcases his fragile, wistful and timeless blend of blues and folk. A modern day troubadour, McNiff started recording in the early 00s, but he has a sound that harks back to the great folk rock pioneers of the late 60s/early 70s.

Jason McNiff is a London based Yorkshireman of Irish and Polish descent. With nods to Bob Dylan and the Band, Leonard Cohen, Paul Simon, Bert Jansch, John Renbourn and Wizz Jones, McNiff is often touted as one of the UK’s most precious musical treasures – a great songwriter and top-notch finger-style guitarist. His 2011 album, April Cruel (Fledg’ling Records) was nominated for best album in the alt-country category at the Independent Music Awards in the US.

Weaving inspriation from classic American songsmiths with strong roots in English folk, McNiff serves up astutely arranged ballads embued with warmth and beautifully crafted imagery.


Forthcoming dates:
6 April – Lantern Society at Print Works, HASTINGS
22 April – Music’s Not Dead, BEXHILL
2 May – Servant’s Jazz Quarters, LONDON
7 May – Jenny Lind – HASTINGS
20/21 May – Wood Festival, OXFORDSHIRE

Pre-order Rain Dries Your Eyes here: http://smarturl.it/TR1982

Listen to cover of “Blues Run The Game” (Jackson C Frank)

Listen to “Hills Of Rome


“One of the UK’s best kept secrets.” – Mojo 4*s
“McNiff’s quiet, intimate, fragile-sounding vocals draw you into his world – an almost timeless place, through which he drifts, a romantic loner, a dreamer, at home with the blues.” Time Out
“Dark songs of drunkenness and murder!” – The Independent 4*s
“Not just a good songwriter, a truly great one.” – Americana UK 9/10

Jason McNiff Discography:
2000 Off the Rails (Snowstorm Records)
2003 Nobody’s Son (Snowstorm)
2006 Another Man (Wonky Atlas)
2008 In My Time (Snowstorm)
2011 April Cruel (Fledg’ling Records)
2014 God Knows Why We Dream (self)
Rain Dries Your Eyes
Full tracklisting:
CD 1
1. Off the Rails (from Off the Rails)
2. Woody’s Annie Hall (Off the Rails)
3. Southbound Train (Off the Rails)
4. I Remember You (Nobody’s Son)
5. Another Man (Another Man)
6. Blow Up The Bridge (Nobody’s Son)
7. Hang On To Your Woman (Off the Rails)
8. Kissing in the Wind (April Cruel)
9. Summertime in Soho (Off the Rails)
10. Marry Him (NEW)
11. Nobody’s Son feat Emma Tricca (NEW version of song, Emma on lead)
12. Adieu to Lausanne (Nobody’s Son)
13. Students of Love (NEW version of track from April Cruel)
14. New York (Off the Rails)
15. Hat (Another Man)
16. Journey Home (Unreleased recorded 2002)
CD 2
1. In Our Time (NEW version of song from Another Man)
2. Hills of Rome (Another Man 2006)
3. Green (God Knows Why We Dream 2014)
4. A Different Word (God Knows…)
5. All Around America (Nobody’s Son)
6. Tombola (April Cruel 2011)
7. Delia (Another Man)
8. Sun Comes Up (NEW)
9. Coming Back To Life (New version of track from God Knows)
10. Game Over (God Knows… 2014)
11. Heart of a Poet (God Knows…)
12. Bus of Tears (NEW version of track from April Cruel)
13. Pilgrim Soul (In My Time 2008)
14. The Picture (God Knows)
15. Sicily (NEW version)
16. Weeping Willows Weep (Nobody’s Son)
17. Cairo (Stuck in the Past) (NEW)

Previous post
Rejjie Snow shares "Flexin" via NOISEY
Next post
Goldray announce UK Tour Dates // Debut album 'Rising' released May 5th

Jason McNiff shares psychedelic video for "Cairo (Stuck In The Past)",