John MAYALL – Talk About (via Forty Below Records released 27 Jan 2017)

John MAYALL – Talk About (via Forty Below Records released 27 Jan 2017)

Blues legend John Mayall has been at the forefront of the British Blues Boom and British Invasion movements since the early 60s, and has worked with some pretty big names. In the John Mayall’s Bluesbreakers days he worked with Eric Clapton, Peter Green, Mick Fleetwood, Mick Taylor, John McVie, Dick Heckstall Smith, Andy Fraser and, well, it’s an extensive list.  Suffice to say that, as a pianist / vocalist, he’s been there and done that, and drew the t-shirt when it comes to working with name guitarists and other name musicians.

With some live dates planned, this new album will kick off 2017 in a very fine style, a solid blues album where feeling and the band count as much as any individual performance.

From the opener ‘Talk About That’ there’s some solid guitar, even more solid bass, and as ‘It’s Hard Going up’ shows, enhancement through some very rich keyboards.

Mayall’s vocals are strong and solid, and the bonus of Joe Walsh (The Eagles) on guitar on two tracks a real treat.

The brass on ‘Gumbo’ is a treat too, party music slowed down and bluesed-up. The guitar on this track provides a great solo too.

Some tracks are a little faster, a bit of rock’n’roll, good driving music, and the harmonica works well too. Compare that to some of the slower almost big-band styled blues and you get a solid blues album with as many modern touches as old, and it doesn’t tire at all. 8/10

Joe Geesin


John Mayall – vocals, organ / piano, harmonica, guitar

Rocky Atkas – lead and rhythm guitar

Greg Azab – bass, percussion

Jay Davenport – drims

Special guest – Joe Walsh (lead guitar on tracks 3 and 6)


Track list

  1. Talk About That
  2. It’s Hard Going Up
  3. The Devil Must Be Laughing
  4. Gimme Some Of That Gumbo
  5. Goin’ Away Baby
  6. Cards On The Tgable
  7. I didn’t Mean To Hurt You
  8. Don’t Deny Me
  9. Blue Midnight
  10. Across The Country Line
  11. You Never Know
Previous post
New single: Holy Now - Wishlist
Next post
MiC Lowry announce UK Tour February

John MAYALL – Talk About (via Forty Below Records released 27 Jan 2017)