JUNGLE return with two brand new songs | Watch the music videos for "Happy Man" and "House In LA" now

JUNGLE return with two brand new songs | Watch the music videos for "Happy Man" and "House In LA" now

RETURN WITH TWO BRAND NEW SONGS

HAPPY MAN‘ AND ‘HOUSE IN LA‘ RELEASED TODAY VIA XL RECORDINGS

Photo Credit: Oliver Hadlee Pearch

Towards the end of 2013 Jungle burst onto the scene with their first two singles: ‘The Heat’ and ‘Platoon’. Appearing out of nowhere and propelled by feverish word of mouth online and IRL, Jungle would transform over the next few years from an anonymous production duo to a kaleidoscopic, personality-filled seven piece live band built around the core duo of Josh Lloyd-Watson and Tom McFarland, whose debut album (2014’s self-titled Jungle) was one of the year’s defining debut records; one that would end up nominated for the UK’s Mercury Music Prize and go on to sell over half a million copies.

Today, Jungle return with a set of new songs, each showcasing a very different side of their sound. AA sided single cuts ‘Happy Man‘ and ‘House In LA‘ are the first tracks to be revealed from Jungle’s forthcoming second album which was recorded in London; Josh and Tom describe it as “a post-apocalyptic radio station playing break up songs.”  If Jungle’s first album was their imaginary soundtrack to the places they had never been, their new record captures the landscapes they had so often dreamed of. To write and record the new album, J and T swapped Shepherds Bush for the Hollywood Hills. Their romanticization of The California Dream clashed with the reality of living it—although the experience led them back home to London to finish the album, the journey itself ultimately defining the music it produced.

Happy Man‘ sees the band visiting themes of disenfranchised youth in an era where the dreams of the Baby Boomers are out of reach for a younger generation (lyrical terrain previously explored in Jungle’s crossover anthem ‘Busy Earnin’). It’s accompanied by a stunning video that, for the first time ever, gives you a glimpse inside Jungle’s world by introducing the band and new Jungle member Zangi who can be seen dancing in the video.

Watch the ‘Happy Man’ video HERE directed by JFC Worldwide

Download / Stream ‘Happy Man’

‘House In LA’ is a complete 180 handbrake turn from ‘Happy Man’. It finds the band holed up in the hills of Los Angeles, choppers whirring in the background, heartbroken, regrouping and soul searching (“I feel alive in the sunlight / All my fears are only real life…two whole years on a re-write / tell my friends I’m gonna be right there…”). And from that a modern psychedelic anthem emerges that is Jungle’s finest production moment to date, making full use of the armoury of live sounds they developed touring the world over the previous five years.

Watch the ‘House In LA’ video HERE directed by Charlie Di Placido

Download / Stream ‘House In LA’

Credit: Charlie Di Placido

Available Friday, June 22 Happy May / House In LA limited edition 12” double A side. Pre-order HERE.

Happy Man + House In LA Social Media Assets: download HERE

Meanwhile, following recent appearances at Coachella, Jungle are currently out on a European headline tour. Today they have also announced more UK and European dates plus the band will return to north America in June for a run of further headline shows around an appearance at Bonnaroo. The full set of dates are below, with full details available via http://www.junglejunglejungle.com/

UK + Europe

Tuesday, May 8             Rock City                           Nottingham

Wednesday, May 9      O2 Academy                       Bristol

Thursday, May 10         O2 Ritz                               Manchester

Saturday, May 12         O2 Institute                        Birmingham

Monday, May 14          Paradiso                             Amsterdam – SOLD OUT

Wednesday, May 16    Huxleys                               Berlin

Thursday, May 17         Live Music Hall                   Köln

Saturday, May 19         Art Rock Festival                Saint-Brieuc

Sunday, May 20            Le Trianon                          Paris

Monday, May 21          La Laiterie                           Strasbourg

Tuesday, May 22          Le Transbordeur                 Lyon

Sunday, May 27 World Island Leeds, UK

 

North America

Friday, June 8 Terminal West Atlanta, GA

Saturday, June 9 Saturn Birmingham, AL

Sunday, June 10 Bonnaroo Manchester, TN

Tuesday, June 12 Newport Music Hall Columbus, OH

Wednesday, June 13 Mr Smalls Pittsburgh, PA

Thursday, June 14 Beachland Music Hall Cleveland, OH

Friday, June 15 Danforth Music Hall Toronto, ON

Sunday, June 17 Royale Boston, MA

Monday, June 18 Brooklyn Steel Brooklyn, NY

 

UK + Europe

Friday, June 22 Hurricane Festival             Germany

Saturday, June 23 Southside Festival Germany

Sunday, June 24 Solidays Paris, FR

Friday, June 29 Open Air St. Galen, AG

Sunday, July 1 Down The Rabbit Hole Netherlands

Friday, July 6 Main Square Festival Arras, FR

Saturday, July 7 Eurockéennes Festival France

Thursday, July 12 Les Georges Festival Switzerland

Saturday, July 14 Bilbao BBK Live Spain

Thursday, July 19 Musik i Lejet Festival Denmark

Friday, July 20 Pori Jazz Festival Finland

Friday, August 10 Grape Festival Slovakia

Thursday, August 16 Paredes de Coura Fest. Portugal

Saturday, August 18 Pukkelpop Belgium

Sunday, August 19         La Route du Rock France

Saturday, September 1   Electric Picnic                     Ireland

http://www.junglejunglejungle.com/

Previous post
Ash | New Album May 18
Next post
Hear new song from Confuse-Ray
Back
SHARE

JUNGLE return with two brand new songs | Watch the music videos for "Happy Man" and "House In LA" now