The Legends announce debut album ‘Nightshift’ via Labrador Records

The Legends announce debut album ‘Nightshift’ via Labrador Records


Announce debut album ‘Nightshift’

Released 21 April 2017 via Labrador Records

Shares new single ‘Cash’

“Stunning retro-futurism” – Clash Magazine

“I’ve never cared much about what people are gonna think of my music. If I did I’d be the biggest artist on the planet” proclaim The Legends, who announce the new LP Nightshift coming 4/21 on Swedish-pop imprint Labrador Records and share new single “Cash”.

Nightshift is an album brimful of lazy space-funk, electro-noir, and feral pop frenzy from the hyper-confident musical alter-ego of Stockholm-based Labrador Records label-head  Johan Angergård (Djustin, Club 8, Acid House Kings).

“With people like Trump, Putin, and Jinping ruling and ruining the world I need this creative outlet more than ever,” explains Angergård (a pretty mild-mannered guy IRL) of his return as The Legends. “I don’t know if it’s a happy album… it’s more of an ‘eat-your-SSRIs-and-try-to-enjoy-yourself-FFS!’ kind of record.”

Fully embracing the theme, the album kickstarts with  ”Cash” a vocoder-dripped, cocksure single that swaggers in and proclaims: “I’m the kind of guy that everybody wants to be / They’re throwing all their cash on me.”

Like past The Legends’ albums – 2009’s noise-pop debut LP Over And Over and 2015’s fragile and romantic It’s Love ft. “Keep Him”,  Nightshift represents a change in direction.

The album sees Angergård taking full ownership of his solo project, bringing The Legends on to his own Labrador Records (home to The Radio Dept., Pallers, Club 8, Acid House Kings + more). “I’m more self-confident today and figured I might as well go all DIY again. As much as I love other people, there’s just no opinion I value higher than my own right now.”

Cash” follows a steady burn of single releases throughout 2016 including two new self-released tracks  “Cocaine” ft. Maria Usbeck and “Summer In The City (Living Is For Somebody Else)”, and the Chainsmokers cover “Roses”. The new tracks appear on the forthcoming Nightshift.

On this third LP the artist embraces his inner tech geek with a heavy dose of vocoders and analogue synthesizers. The new 16-track collection was inspired by the funkiest electronic music he could find: “I love Futurism. I love the dynamism of modern technology. I love the endless possibilities… ‘Nightshift’ might be a night album, but it’s lit up by neon.”



1. Cash

2. There Is A Light That Soon Goes Out

3. Summer In The City (Living Is For Somebody Else)

4. Riding The Waves

5. In Love With Myself

6. Diamonds

7. Say what?

8. Space Jam

9. Motorway

10. The Phone Call

11. Automan

12. Midnight Sun

13. Roses

14. Cocaine

15. City Lights

16. Messages

Previous post
Alvarez Kings announce the release of their debut album 'Somewhere Between'
Next post
Ditto Accelerator Project - Developing Underprivileged Musicians

The Legends announce debut album ‘Nightshift’ via Labrador Records