Here Lies Man premiere first song from forthcoming debut

Here Lies Man premiere first song from forthcoming debut

Antibalas members ponder “if Black Sabbath played Afrobeat”


Hear & share “You Ain’t Goin’ Nowhere” (YouTube) (Soundcloud)(BrooklynVegan)

“It’s funky, groovy, heavy, and trippy all at once, and it rules pretty hard.” — Brooklyn Vegan

Los Angeles quintet Here Lies Man share the first song from their forthcoming self-titled debut album today via Brooklyn Vegan. The song “You Ain’t Goin’ Nowhere” is available to hear and share HERE. (Direct YouTube and Soundcloud.)

What if Black Sabbath played Afrobeat? In short, that’s the underlying vibe to the self-titled debut by Here Lies Man. The L.A. based quintet is founded and conceptualized by Marcos Garcia of Antibalas, bringing his erudite experience of World rhythms and music to the more riff-based foundations of heavy rock. The results are an incredibly catchy and refreshing twist on classic forms, without sounding forced and trite like some sort of mash-up attempt. Here Lies Man merges and expands musical traditions organically, utilizing the talents of drummer Geoff Mann (son of jazz musician Herbie Mann and former Antibalas member) and a host of skilled musicians to make Garcia’s vision a reality.

“These repetitive guitar figures that happen in Afrobeat music are pretty close to heavy rock guitar riffs,” Garcia explains. “It’s based on the clave. It’s the musical algorithm that the rhythms revolve around. That’s what gives it integrity and is part of this musical conversation going on. I knew I wanted it to be psychedelic and heavy, and I wanted to be expanding on a musical tradition than pretending to be creating something new.” The recording and band came together in the somewhat spontaneous fashion for which L.A. is famous. Garcia and Mann laid down the foundations and the band quickly expanded the recording and live shows soon followed.

And that expansion is the brilliant, hazy, psychedelic, hook-laden 8-song masterwork Here Lies Man, available on LP, CD and download on April 7th, 2017 via RidingEasy Records. Pre-orders are available at iTunes and

Artist: Here Lies Man

Album: Here Lies Man
Label: RidingEasy Records

Release Date: April 7, 2017

01. When I Come To

02. I Stand Alone

03. Eyes of the Law

04. You Ain’t Goin’ Nowhere

05. Letting Go

06. So Far Away

07. Belt of the Sun

08. Here Lies Man

On The Web:

Previous post
Lonely The Brave Stream: new Lonely The Brave track “Collider”
Next post
The Forgotten Ghost - 'Too Close To The Sun' Single

Here Lies Man premiere first song from forthcoming debut