Lily and Madeleine Announce New Album Keep It Together Due Out on New West Records on 26 February

Lily and Madeleine Announce New Album Keep It Together Due Out on New West Records on 26 February




Watch “Hourglass” below

“Wonderful… their voices are crystal clear; their lyrics describe a world altogether murkier.” The Sunday Times

“Mountain air-pure voices” – Guardian New Band of the Day

“The girls have made a gorgeously restrained full-length debut that intimates both youthfulness in its most innocent state and startling self-awareness. A small miracle.” – Uncut 8/10

“Undoubtedly Fumes indicates the progression of the duo’s ability to weave more intricate soundscapes into their work”

The Line of Best Fit


Keep It Together, the spellbinding new album from acclaimed duo Lily & Madeleine, will be released 26 February on New West Records. In advance of the release, the official music video for the album’s first single, “Hourglass,” premiered at Bullett, who wrote: “… the sisters’ voices blend harmoniously, offering a glimpse into the dreamy sonic landscape the two are capable of delivering. The Laurel Cohen-directed video centers on fast cuts of slow motion clips, paired with bright hues and spliced together images to reflect the track’s subtle intricacies. It’s a bit of a craft explosion, as Lily & Madeleine are shown playfully covered in buttons and enveloped in clouds of colored smoke.” “Hourglass” is available instantly with each pre-order of the record:


Recorded at home in Bloomington, Indiana with producer Paul Mahern, who also helmed Lily & Madeleine’s lauded debut and second albums, the 10-song long-player is a mature and dynamic statement from two distinct musical personalities, grounded and bound by kinship, that melds seamlessly into an ethereal and enthralling collection. With the help of friends and touring band members Shannon Hayden (cello, mandolin, guitar, Moog) and Kate Siefker (drums, percussion, guitar, bass), Lily & Madeleine take their songs into exciting new territory. Album opener, “Not Gonna,” sets the tone for the album and serves as a confident mission statement both thematically and musically as the duo’s beautiful melodies and impeccable harmonies are buoyed by orchestral strings, electronic flourishes, analog synth, piano and a pulsing groove.

Keep It Together is the sound of Lily, 18, and Madeleine, 21, asserting themselves as young women and very much coming in to their own as they learn to navigate adulthood and all that comes with it. On “For The Weak,” an upbeat, chiming slice of indie rock, the pair pine, “so I just gotta know/Is hoping for the weak,” while the sultry “Chicago” deals with a love affair in the Windy City. The album culminates with the devastating “Nothing,” that sees the protagonist self empowered after a broken heart.

Of the project, Madeleine comments, “Working with a closer knit team of just four ladies helped tighten our sound and unify each track into a complete collection. The title of the album is a lyric from the first track ‘Not Gonna,’ which Lily wrote. This simple phrase has a lot of meaning to us: keep your shit together, keep our relationship as sisters together, pressure to keep our image a certain way as young ladies.”

Lily adds, “Along with reflecting on the personal bonds that Madeleine and I both have, I also really wanted to focus more on the bigger picture and write about the experience of being a white woman in America and a college­age kid in the 21st century. As I attempt to further discover who I am as an individual, the way society wants me to define myself is becoming clearer. It seems to me that young people are the same everywhere: regardless of race, gender, or socioeconomic class. All young adults are in the same boat, trying to figure out what makes us individuals and trying to find our value in society.”

The new recording comes on the heels of the prolific duo’s highly-regarded second release, Fumes, and is the their third full-length album in three years, following an EP and two LPs on Sufjan Stevens’ label Asthmatic Kitty. Of their last effort ELLE Magazine said; “… the twosome, known for their pinpoint harmonies and vocal precision, had no reservations about flipping the script this go-round: They amped up the production and gave their new album… a far more bombastic sound,” while NPR Music wrote, Fumes is a misleading record, the way a masterfully performed dance is misleading: It looks easy only because the complexities behind it are unfathomable to outsiders. There’s a borderlessness to Lily & Madeleine that leans from seamlessly natural to mesmerizingly preternatural, hinting at deeper forces at work than skill and practice.” Since their debut in 2013, the duo have performed on significant US TV and radio outlets including CBS’ “This Morning,” KCRW’s “Morning Becomes Eclectic,” NPR Music’s “Tiny Desk Concert” series and “A Prairie Home Companion.”

Here in the UK Lily & Madeleine have received plaudits from The Sunday Times, Independent on Sunday, Elle, Marie-Claire and Uncut, as well as receiving a Guardian New Band of the Day piece for their debut as well as a double page spread in The Independent. Fumes was Album of the Day on 6 Music and the band have toured extensively in the UK, including a performance at End of the Road in 2014.

Keep It Together track-listing

1. Not Gonna

2. For the Weak

3. Westfield

4. Chicago

5. Hourglass

6. Hotel Pool

7. Smoke Tricks

8. Midwest Kid

9. Small Talk

10. Nothing

Previous post
Heartless Bastards headline Oslo in London Sat 12th December
Next post
MOBO Award-Winning Rap Group Section Boyz Announce UK Tour

Lily and Madeleine Announce New Album Keep It Together Due Out on New West Records on 26 February