LISTEN: Boxed In Announces new album ‘Melt’ / Lead single ‘Jist’ available now

LISTEN: Boxed In Announces new album ‘Melt’ / Lead single ‘Jist’ available now


New album released 23rd September
Lead single ‘Jist’ available now

Praise for ‘Boxed In’:
“This album will enhance your life” NME
“Melodies that worm their way into your soul…stunning” Sunday Times Culture, Debut of the Week
“Boxed In hit hard enough to get the party started and holds just enough back to make you want to return to it again and again” Line of Best Fit

Boxed In have today unveiled a brand new single ‘Jist’, as well as confirming details of their second album. Following barely a year after the highly acclaimed self-titled debut – which garnered support across Radio 1, 6Music, Spotify, KCRW and saw sold-out shows at London’s XOYO and Oslo – sophomore effort ‘Melt’ will see a release on Nettwerk Records on September 23rd. The band play Glastonbury Festival next weekend with many more live plans to follow.

The charge is led by new track ‘Jist’: a head-turning, expertly-produced cut of electronic pop, keeping one foot firmly in Oli Bayston’s background  – intricate piano lines, taut rhythms – but also digging deeper into the dance music influences tightly compacted within Boxed In. The track was produced between Oli Bayston and Dan Carey, and is about, says Bayston, “Getting lost in repetitive thought patterns & the form of the music which emulates that mindset. It’s perversely enjoyable to work yourself in to a cyclical mantra from which there’s no escape.”

Listen to ‘Jist’

‘Jist’ is the brainchild of Oli Bayston, the singer, songwriter, producer and front-man of Boxed In. Not content with following the band’s debut so quickly, Bayston continues to expand his reputation as one of the country’s most in-demand emerging producers (he’s currently recording the debut album from Nimmo, and working with Zola Blood among numerous other endeavours). “It’s all about balancing the two roles,” says Bayston, who perhaps – both in multi-tasking, and his nuanced knowledge of dance culture – offers a closest UK answer to James Murphy of LCD Soundsystem. “I’m fortunate to be in a position where I can be producer and singer. The two inform each other – I get to see from both sides of the lens.”

Warmly inviting yet coolly controlled, the 11 songs across Boxed In’s second album ‘Melt’ are experimental, infectious, yet richly detailed (with the accent on midtempo art ache). If ‘Boxed In’ was essentially a breakup record, ‘Melt’ is one of reconciliation (with a partner, with your future, and with yourself). Beneath the pristine surfaces lie passionate examinations of choice and change, whilst a pulsating sense of positivity runs throughout; capturing a young man at a transitional stage, preparing to enter the next, more mature phase of his life.  A fresh spin on ‘70s krautrock.

Track-listing for ‘Melt’

  1. Intro
  2. Jist
  3. Shadow Boxing
  4. Melt
  5. London Lights
  6. Forget
  7. Black Prism
  8. Oxbow
  9. Upto You
  10. Underbelly
  11. Open-Ended
Previous post
KT Tunstall returns: 'Golden State' EP Out June 16 on Caroline Records
Next post
Green Man Rising 2016 Winner Announced - Tony Njoku

LISTEN: Boxed In Announces new album ‘Melt’ / Lead single ‘Jist’ available now