Listen to Forever – ‘Rainforest’ from new Coyote Records EP, ‘Hymn’

Listen to Forever – ‘Rainforest’ from new Coyote Records EP, ‘Hymn’


‘Hymn’ EP

(Coyote Records)

Release Date: 28th April 2017

stream / share / enjoy second track, ‘Rainforest’, here

Having first linked up with London-based Coyote Records in early 2015, Grade 10’s Forever returns to the label proper for his first full EP project, ‘Hymn’.

A record written over an extended period of time — the title-track, one of Forever’s most recognisable, was produced years prior — ‘Hymn’ explores the myriad sounds, layers and textures that have come to define his music.

It was his remix of Last Japan’s ‘Harca’, released via Coyote’s white label series in January 2015, that first welcomed him into a tight-knit community of affiliated producers, even playing the label’s third birthday in London later that year. Boosted by the formation of Leicester-based label and collective, Grade 10 — for whom he remains a key creative figure alongside Prayer, Loosewomen etc — a little later in the year, Forever then went onto release his debut EP, ‘Coarse’, in July 2016.

While ‘Coarse’ dealt in contrasting rare grooves and tones, ‘Hymn’ hones in on the sounds that have checked his growth and development as a producer. The delicate, slow-burning cinema of widescreen opener ‘Gweilo’, the shadowy eeriness of ‘Hymn’ and the crunchy, industrial club heat of ‘Swamped’ each point to different reference points, but all feel interlinked by Forever’s grip on atmosphere and tone.

Coyote label mate, Chemist — one third of Planet Mu trio, Silk Road Assassins — also turns in a booming edit of ‘Hymn’, complete with re-booted, icy melodies that fire off like shards of glass, and rude, 808 patterns that nod to his work with SRA.


A1. Gweilo
A2. Hymn
B1. Rainforest
B2. Swamped
B3. Hymn (Chemist Remix)

Previous post
MOON DUO share new single 'Sevens'. UK dates next week. Occult Architecture Vol. 2 out May 5th on Sacred Bones.
Next post
Young Galaxy - ‘Stay For Real’

Listen to Forever – ‘Rainforest’ from new Coyote Records EP, ‘Hymn’