LITTLE GREEN CARS The New Album, EPHEMERA , Released 11th March (Glassnote)

LITTLE GREEN CARS The New Album, EPHEMERA , Released 11th March (Glassnote)

The Song They Play Every Night – The Single – Listen below

Exclusive Album Preview Live @ Hoxton Square Bar & Kitchen – 9th February

LITTLE GREEN CARS return with The Song They Play Every Night, the first taster from their extraordinary new album, Ephemera. The Song They Play Every Night is the opening track on the album, which was co-produced by the band with Rob Kirwan and is set for release on Glassnote on 11th March.

Little Green Cars will preview the release of Ephemera with an intimate London show at Hoxton Square Bar & Kitchen on 9th February, with Irish, European and US tours set to follow from March-May (see for full details). The band will also play a newly-announced major outdoor headline show in their hometown of Dublin in July. Little Green Cars play:

Tues 9th FEB LONDON, Hoxton Square Bar & Kitchen (TICKETS)

Little Green Cars were still in their teens when they were spotted and signed to Glassnote and recorded their widely-acclaimed 2013 debut Absolute Zero with producer Markus Dravs. That album changed their lives, taking the five former school friends on tour everywhere from Europe and Australia to Russia and the States, which they criss-crossed six times in three years.

Now all in their early 20s, Little Green Cars are both a different band and the same five friends who met every Sunday aged 15 in singer Stevie Appleby’s garden shed to start writing songs. Those changes, their shared experiences and individual ups and downs are candidly documented in Ephemera, a gorgeous, grown-up album about, well, growing up.

Two deaths, relationship break-ups and their over two years’ worth of touring are among the key events that inform Ephemera’s richly-textured, harmony-soaked rock songs. While the impact of those events will change over time, the intense emotions they evoked live on in the music.

All the time the band were on tour, they were writing new songs, some of which they honed live. All the time they were changing, as were family and friends back home, whose lives they could sometimes no longer relate to. Stevie and Faye O’Rourke – the band’s principal songwriters and interchanging lead vocalists – watched their love lives fall apart. All five questioned who they used to be and who they had become, not least guitarist Adam O’Regan, whose father passed away.

“It’s a transitional album,” says Stevie. “Lyrically, it’s all about change – the end of some eras, new beginnings, learning from the past and looking to the future. Ephemera means things that are important to you, but only for a short time. That could apply to music or relationships or even a particular day.

All five members of the band – completed by Donagh Seaver O’Leary on bass and Dylan Lynch on drums – contribute to the music and harmonise. Having written on the road, the quintet returned to Dublin in 2014 to make demos. By the end of the year, they were ready to record their first batch of songs. Keen to co-produce, they sought a trusted collaborator. Enter Rob Kirwan, at whose treasure trove Dublin studio the band experimented with sounds, adding electronics, mastering reverb, bringing in a cellist and learning to play the toy-like Omnichord.

A dozen exquisitely-crafted, exceptionally-sung, sumptuously-produced songs shimmer with the myriad of emotions the band has been through – restlessness, regret, love, heartbreak, hope and acceptance among them.

The tracklisting for Ephemera runs as follows: The Song They Play Every Night; You vs Me; Easier Day; The Garden of Death; Brother; Clare De Lune; Ok Ok Ok; The Party; I Don’t Even Know Who; Good Women Do; Winds Of Peace; The Factory.

Previous post
GRIMES: AC!D REIGN Headline Tour Nears
Next post
BEAUTIFUL BODIES w/ Mayday Parade UK Tour Nears

LITTLE GREEN CARS The New Album, EPHEMERA , Released 11th March (Glassnote)