Menace Beach stream debut album via Hype Machine

Menace Beach stream debut album via Hype Machine

‘Menace Beach’s debut may relish a world on the brink of chaos but this is a band with their shit together’ 8/10 NME

One of 2015’s most exciting new bands, the Leeds based Menace Beach, are streaming their debut album ‘Ratworld’ via Hype Machine. The exclusive stream begins today, a full week ahead of its formal release on 19th January via Memphis Industries.

Menace Beach are led by Ryan Needham (vocals and guitar) and Liza Violet (vocals, keyboards, guitar), ably assisted by Hookworm’s singer Matthew ‘MJ’ Johnson on guitar and production duties, Nestor Matthews on drums and Matt Spalding on bass.
Their debut album, recorded at MJ’s Suburban Home studios across the summer of 2014 is a thirteen song assault and journey through a psyche tinged wonderland, documenting moving away and waving goodbye to the fractured rubble of an unhappy lifestyle. On the title, Ryan says “We’ve created our own grubby little Ratworld to inhabit. Everything is better when it’s a bit grubby and broken.” It’s that dreamy sensation of taking comfort in chaos, looking around at the perfect mess you’ve created and feeling deeply content as it’s yours and no one else’s.

Pick up the album from your local indie shop or the band’s website at and get an entire alternate version of the album, Drawlrot, on cassette + download for free whilst stocks last.

19 January – Leeds, Jumbo Records (Instore)
20 January – Nottingham, Rough Trade (Instore)
22 January – Kingston, New Slang (Album Release Show)
25 January – Broadcast, Glasgow
26 January – The Castle, Manchester
27 January – Hare & Hounds, Birmingham
28 January – Louisiana, Bristol
29 January – Sebright Arms, London
30 January – Prince Albert, Brighton
01 February – Brudenell, Leeds
12 February – Boston Dome, London (NME Awards Show)


Previous post
The Garden share video for recent single 'Surprise'
Next post
Generationals Share "Reviver" Video w/ BrooklynVegan, Nat'l Tour Kicks Off This Week

Menace Beach stream debut album via Hype Machine