Minden Stream "Artist Statement" via NYLON

Minden Stream "Artist Statement" via NYLON

New LP Sweet, Simple Things Out August 5, 2016
on Hit City U.S.A.

Photo Credit: Jaclyn Campanaro
Listen to “Artist Statement” at NYLON
“[It’s] good to have tunes as refreshing as Minden’s “Real Sugar” to fall back on… the plush groove of warm bass and glowing keys out-glucoses any Coca-Cola product.” –SPIN
“Though bursting with their own sweetness, the band’s songs offer something little more enticing… Salacious themes of bondage and role playing juxtapose with frontman Casey Burge’s exquisite lyrics and bright delights.” –FLAUNT

Hit City U.S.A. are sharing a new gem from Portland indie pop quintet Minden today via NYLON who are streaming “Artist Statement”. “The combination of the song’s lyrical edginess and honeyed sound gives it a devilish quality, making it an indulgence you can’t possibly resist,” NYLON says of the new song. “Artist Statement” is the second single, following the previously released “Real Sugar”, from Minden’s upcoming LP Sweet, Simple Things due out on August 5th, 2016 on Hit City U.S.A. and now available for pre-order from the label.

Listen to “Real Sugar”

There’s a subtle sexuality that penetrates Minden’s saccharine indie pop. Erotic themes of bondage and role playing juxtapose with frontman Casey Burge’s lighter subjects, such as searching for authenticity while selecting the right soda pop — it’s all enough to leave one wiping his brow and licking her lips.

On the Portland quintet’s upcoming album Sweet, Simple Things, Burge and his band — Lia Gist (vocals), James Taylor (guitar), Evan Houston (bass), Ryan Johnson (drums), Dan Talmadge (keys) and Papi Fimbres (percussion) — hone an evocative collection of smooth and danceable tunes, indulging in confectionary hooks laid over funky grooves. The LP is delicious in its oddity, befitting feel good moments from West Coast summers to Parisian night clubs.

There are elements of indie-pop’s modern legacy favorites, evoking Phoenix, Peter, Bjorn & John and Miike Snow, or contemporaries such as Unknown Mortal Orchestra or Ariel Pink, but Minden widely pull influence from far less expected artists: Azymuth on the album’s rhythms and genre-crossing, Dâm-Funk and his modern funk boogie, and classic soul-funk heroes like Sly Stone, Curtis Mayfield, and Bill Withers whose vibes carry on throughout. But at the core, the songwriting is still pure, pop-rock bliss with its inescapable influences running from the Beatles to Prefab Sprout.
Tour dates will be announced soon!

Sweet, Simple Things Track Listing:
01) Real Sugar
02) Artist Statement
03) Love Is Bad
04) The Middle
05) Sheila
06) Never Spayed
07) Sweet, Simple Things
08) All the Girls
09) Like That’s Okay


Previous post
Los Chicos: New Video Single: "I Don't Wanna Learn"
Next post
Silent Pictures Debut New Single "Twisted Smiles" via PopMatters

Minden Stream "Artist Statement" via NYLON