Nadine Khouri precedes 2017 debut album with new track and video

Nadine Khouri precedes 2017 debut album with new track and video

Nadine Khouri

releases debut (John Parish produced) album

‘The Salted Air’ on 3 February 2017 on One Flash Records –

– new video for album track ‘Broken Star’ –

Watch / stream / post video to Broken Star here

Listen to album track Broken Star here:

“Meditative, spectral dreamscapes… extraordinary voice: a fragile, sensuous instrument” MOJO

“The overwhelming breathless cool of Nadine’s voice is something that you cannot go without hearing.” The 405

Nadine Khouri is a British-Lebanese musician and songwriter currently based in London. Influenced by dream-pop, moody soundtracks and spoken-word, her sound has been described as a “music born of perennial outsider-status.”

Noted by John Parish  (PJ Harvey, Giant Sand) for her voice, Khouri was invited to sing on a track on his Screenplay LP and subsequently to record her forthcoming album with the producer in his hometown of Bristol. The album was recorded live by Parish & Ali Chant in the darkly-lit Georgian vaulted basement at Toybox Studios with a band assembled by Khouri.

Sparse & minimal in its arrangement, the resulting album is a haunting collection of poetic & atmospheric meditations on loss and transformation. The album also features guest contributions from Parish, Irish singersongwriter Adrian Crowley, violinist Emma Smith (James Yorkston) pianist Florian Tanant, along with a core band consisting of Jean-Marc Butty (drums) Huw Bennett (double-bass) J Allen (keyboards, backing vocals) and Ruban Byrne (electric guitar, backing vocals.)

A first track You Got A Fire was self-released as a digital download with an accompanying video directed by photographer Steve Gullick. The track was featured on God is in the TV as Track of the Day, with Khouri featured as a main Rising Artist to watch for this year in MOJO magazine.

In the past months, she has performed in some of London’s most renowned venues, including The Union Chapel, National Portrait Gallery, Cecil Sharp House, Royal Festival Hall, Royal Academy of Arts, and supported Howe Gelb, John Parish, Mary Hampton and John Murry, garnering positive reviews for her live performances.

There is also a new video (link above) for album track Broken Star. Set against the slow hypnotic beat of a Moroccan tara, droning organ bass and a distant male choir, the piece is a spoken, moody incantation inspired by Virginia Woolf’s short story Solid Objects. The hotly-tipped album is due for release in early 2017 on CD, digital and vinyl formats.


Album track listing

1. Thru You I Awaken

2. I Ran Thru the Dark (to the Beat of my Heart)

3. Jerusalem Blue

4. Broken Star

5. Daybreak

6. The Salted Air

7. Surface of the Sea

8. You Got A Fire

9. Shake it like a Shaman

10. Catapult

Previous post
Snow Angel Brings Funk Pop Positivity + Debuts Video via She Shreds
Next post
Dr. Martens - Casual Comfort

Nadine Khouri precedes 2017 debut album with new track and video