NEW MODEL ARMY Detail New Album ‘Between Dog and Wolf’

NEW MODEL ARMY Detail New Album ‘Between Dog and Wolf’

New Model Army are excited to announce the release of their much heralded new album “Between Dog and Wolf” on September 23rd on Attack Attack Records via a new deal with Essential Music and Marketing in UK and Ireland. The self-produced set was finished earlier this year in Los Angeles with Joe Barresi mixing (Soundgarden, Queens of the Stone Age, Tool). The record marks a major evolution in their sound.

Entitled “Between Dog and Wolf”, the album is filled with multi-layered drums and atmospheric musical textures while sacrificing none of the band’s famous passion and song-writing skills. It is arguably their most accomplished album to date.  The album is the first to feature 26 year old new bass player Ceri Monger whose presence has added to the band’s creative and live resurgence.

Says founder, lead singer and main songwriter Justin Sullivan:

“We were always planning to do something a bit different with this album, and it has turned out much more and much better than we could have imagined. Sonically this is the best album we’ve ever made, whilst creatively it has opened lots of new doors. The title comes from a medieval French expression for dusk – when it’s hard to distinguish between dog and wolf, friend or foe. That sense of contradiction represents the band very well and there’s something of this sense of transformation in the album. It has been a stormy four years since the release of the last album. With the sudden death of our manager, the loss of our studio in the fire, subsequent theft of remaining equipment and our old bass player Nelson’s departure, we in essence lost everything. We used this to make a new beginning and part of the change was effected with the arrival of Ceri and the refreshing energy and musical influences he brought.  We are very excited about the new album and what the future holds for the band.

Said Ceri  “I have loved New Model Army’s music for many years and am chuffed to be a part of this incredible album.  I think the record is pretty unique and I look forward to hearing what people think when they hear it.”

The album’s stunning artwork is based around a painting by long time artistic collaborator Joolz.

Said Joolz, ”I always hear the albums being created from the first acoustic strum onwards and it quickly became obvious that this album was going to be different in sound from previous records.  Early on Justin saw some artwork I had designed originally for a tattoo client of mine, an image of Herne the Hunter and the Herlathing, and the primitive tribal paganism of the picture really symbolised to him the heavy pounding drum rhythms and passions that are at the heart of this album.

The full tracklisting for the album is:


March In September

Seven Times

Did You make it Safe

I Need More Time

Pull The Sun

Lean Back and Fall


Storm Clouds

Between Dog and Wolf

Quasr El Nil Bridge

Tomorrow Came

Summer Moors


A feature-film documentary on the history of the band directed by Royal Television Society Award winning Director Matt Reid, which has been over 4 years in the making, is in the final stages of editing and is set for a release in early 2014.

Between Dog and Wolf European Tour – Part 1.


1 Münster Jovel

2 Hamburg Markthalle

3 Berlin Huxleys

4 Hannover Capitol 5 Rostock Mau

6 Gdansk B90

8 Warsaw Proxima

9 Krakow Kwadrat

10 Wroclaw Alibi

12 Dresden Beatpol

13 Prague Lucerna

14 Budapest A38

15 Vienna Szene

17 Darmstadt Centralstation

18 Nürnberg Lowenzaal

19 Stuttgart LKA

20 Munich Backstage

22 Zürich Komplex 457

23 Geneve L’Usine

24 Lyon Kao

25 Barcelona Music Hall

26 Valencia Rock City

27 Madrid Caracol



13 Glasgow Garage

14 Leeds Acadamy

15 Buckley Tivoli

16 Manchester Ritz

17 Bilston Robin 2

19 Cambridge Junction

20 Frome Cheese and Grain

21 Falmouth Princess Pavilion

22 Brighton Concord

23 London Forum

28 Larissa Mylos

29 Thessoloniki Block33

30 Athens Gagarin205


5 Cork Crane Lane Theatre

6 Dublin Whelans

14 Nottingham Rock City

19 Paris Divan du Monde

20 Paris Divan du Monde

21 Köln Palladium  (The Levellers special guests)

22 Amsterdam Melkweg

Previous post
Next post

NEW MODEL ARMY Detail New Album ‘Between Dog and Wolf’