New single and video for Bright Young People – ‘Suppress Happiness’

New single and video for Bright Young People – ‘Suppress Happiness’

Signed to Gary Powell of The Libertines label ’25 Hour Convenience Store’ – they have unleashed the video for their brand new single ‘Suppress Happiness’ which was recorded & produced by former Vibrators guitarist Pat Collier.



‘Suppress Happiness’


Release Date: 3rd March 2017 Label: 25 Hour Convenience Store

STREAM: Soundcloud  | VIDEO: Youtube

Twitter / Facebook

Full of more swagger than a mid-’90s Gallagher brother, the intense sounds of North Wales guitar bandits Bright Young People have come knocking firmly at the door with new single ‘Suppress Happiness’.


The Rhyl 3-piece made such an overwhelming first impression on Gary Powell of The Libertines that he signed them up to his label 25 Hour Convenience Store on the spot after witnessing their near-riotous show at London’s Shacklewell Arms last year. Their latest offering sees the trio ramp their engines up to full throttle as they rock out with all guns blazing. Keep an ear out for the deliciously woozy Kim Deal-esque bass rumbling along whilst the brazen guitar lines lead you to the dance floor. The song hits full-voltage when the Chorus kicks in and the band channel prime era Nirvana to create a sound that’s both powerful and catchy in equal measure.

Lead singer and guitarist Lee Dawson explains how he sees the song playing out: “I personally want people to paint their own picture of the content on the song, sometimes it’s best to not give too much away. I suppose you can say the chorus ‘Yeah come on and use me have some fun’ can mean a person being taken advantage of for money, being manipulated or blackmailed in some way. Also it’s about realising nothing is around forever, ie the lyric ‘I know every breath I take, one more I lose.”

Despite only forming a couple of years ago, rock and roll royalty such as Iggy Pop, Duff McKagan and Glen Matlock have already been singing the band’s praises. Echo & The Bunnymen’s Ian McCulloch loved the band so much he produced and even played on the band’s debut single ‘Liberties’ – not a bad feather in their cap!

Bright Young People also have bragging rights on the radio front with Radio 1’s Huw Stephens, 6Music’s Steve Lamacq and Radio X’s John Kennedy all playing multiple tracks from the band’s most recent release  ‘Sunshine Town EP’. While we are at it we’d better also tell you they’ve also previously shared a stage with the likes of The Libertines, The OffSpring and Catfish and the Bottlemen as they continue to spread their fuzz-punk sound loudly and proudly.

This new single ‘Suppress Happiness’ was recorded & produced by former Vibrators guitarist Pat Collier which just goes to further cement the fact that Bright Young People are hitting it hard and fast with their rapid ascent into the world of dirty-as-you-like rock and roll.



18th February 2017 – Night & Day, Manchester

24th February 2017 – Zanzibar, Liverpool

16th March 2017 – The Monarch, London

Previous post
WATCH: Noah Cyrus makes live TV debut on Jimmy Fallon, surpasses 100 million streams
Next post
Barry Adamson Unveils Details of a Brand New 6 Track Special EP, 'LOVE SICK DICK'

New single and video for Bright Young People – ‘Suppress Happiness’