Nightlands (Dave Hartley – The War On Drugs) Announces New Album via Western Vinyl

Nightlands (Dave Hartley – The War On Drugs) Announces New Album via Western Vinyl

Announces New Album I Can Feel The Night Around Me

Out 5 May via Western Vinyl

Listen to opening album track ‘Lost Moon’


Nightlands, the project of Philadelphia-based Dave Hartley (best known as a core member and longtime bassist of The War On Drugs), will release his third album, I Can Feel the Night Around Me, on 5 May via Western Vinyl.
Continuing the tradition of previous Nightlands releases Forget the Mantra (2010) and Oak Island (2013), I Can Feel the Night Around Me showcases Hartley’s ability to layer his voice and conjure some of the most beautiful virtual choirs in modern music. Take album opener and lead single ‘Lost Moon‘. The synths and vocal stacks echo through a canyon illuminated by the light of a billion stars — gaze up long enough and you can make out the shapes of All Things Must Pass, The Beach BoysFriends and Hiroshi Satoh‘s That Boy.

In reality, though, the song was written and recorded in an unheated warehouse basement during a record-setting blizzard. “The dissonance between the sound of the album and the atmosphere in which it was recorded is actually pretty striking,” Hartley admits. Indeed, the music seems more geographically inspired by the microclimates of the Lost Coast than the post-industrial cityscape of North Philadelphia.
I Can Feel the Night Around Me uses meticulous choral arrangements and wistful major-seventh chords to evoke a longing for a future that once lay ahead, but has drifted out of reach. Where should a rational man turn when the world seems so increasingly senseless? For Hartley, the answer is a retreat from the cold static of modern life and into the warmth of love and protection.
Hartley has been a fixture in Philadelphia’s music scene for a decade and a half. He has performed his songs as a taut four-piece, a twelve-piece ensemble with a choir and as a one-man-band. Between tours he wrote and performed an original score to Stanley Kubrick’s opus ‘2001: A Space Odyssey’ and remains a prolific collaborator with artists including Sharon Van Etten, Carter Tanton, Torres, Steven A. Clark, Alela Diane, The Dove & the Wolf, amongst others.
The Nightlands live band is Dave Hartley on vocals and guitar, Anthony LaMarca (The War On Drugs, Dean & Britta) on drums, Eliza Hardy Jones (Strand of Oaks, Grace Potter and the Nocturnals) on keys and vocals, Jesse Hale Moore on keys and vocals and Scott Churchman (Chubby Checker) on bass.


I Can Feel The Night Around Me Tracklisting:

1. Lost Moon
2. Easy Does It
3. You’re Silver
4. Love’s in Love
5. Depending On You
6. Fear of Flying
7. Only You Know
8. Moonbathin
9. Human Hearts


Nightland’s social links:

Instagram | Facebook | Twitter


Pre-Order Links:


Previous post
Sodastream share "Saturday's Ash" from forthcoming album Little By Little out March 3
Next post
Alternative Press Streams Casey's Debut Full Length "Love Is Not Enough"

Nightlands (Dave Hartley – The War On Drugs) Announces New Album via Western Vinyl