Oasis: New Album ‘Dig Out Your Soul’

Oasis: New Album ‘Dig Out Your Soul’

‘Dig Out Your Soul’, the forthcoming and eagerly anticipated seventh studio album from one of the world’s biggest and most enduring bands sees a worldwide release through Oasis’s own Big Brother label on October 6th, 2008.

Chief songwriter Noel Gallagher was clear that the album would mark a new departure for the band, dispensing with what many would view as traditional songwriting techniques, he set out with the aim to ‘write music that had a groove, not songs that followed that traditional pattern of verse, chorus and middle eight’. With all four members contributing tracks the result is arguably the most diverse album from the band yet and, according to Liam Gallagher, “the easiest record we’ve ever made”.

Lead single ‘The Shock Of The Lightning’ will already be familiar given it’s pre-eminent position across the UK’s airwaves, a burst of finger in the socket rock ‘n’ roll that demands your attention from the opening note. Recorded quickly, ‘(it) basically is the demo’ according to Noel, the track is a first taste of the sense of freedom and new ideas that burst through the album. Add Liam’s trademark vocal and you have that adrenaline surge that characterises the best of Oasis from ‘Rock ‘n’ Roll Star’ to ‘Acquiesce’ and beyond.

The album opens with the Noel penned ‘Bag It Up’, a psychedelic excursion that finds Liam telling us that ‘the freaks are rising up through the floor’; Noel delivers his vision of ‘the Roses doing The Stooges’ on ‘The Turning’ whilst the hypnotic ‘Falling Down’ spreads the influences further and is hailed by Noel as, ‘the kind of song I’ve wanted to write for years’.

Liam’s songwriting abilities move on yet again with his contributions to ‘Dig Out Your Soul’. First up of his three tracks is ‘I’m Outta Time’, described by Noel as deceptively brilliant’, a piano led ballad of devastating simplicity; ‘Ain’t Got Nothing’ is a furious sonic assault whilst album closer ‘Soldier On’ is a reverb heavy communal groove embellished with a white-out melodica outro. With Gem Archer adding his ‘stream of consciousness’ groove heavy ‘To Be Where There’s Life’ and Andy Bell upping the psychedelic ante with ‘The Nature Of Reality’, ‘Dig Out Your Soul’ achieves an immediacy that is a testament to Noel’s ambition to “make the album we’ve been leading up to since Gem and Andy joined the band”.


Recorded at Abbey Road Studios with producer Dave Sardy and mixed in Los Angeles, ‘Dig Out Your Soul’ is available on four physical as well as digital formats, including a special edition digipack (RKIDCD51X) with bonus DVD disc containing 40 mins of footage including exclusive behind the scenes making of the album and video for ‘The Shock Of The Lightning’. Dig Out Your Soul will also be available on double heavyweight vinyl (RKIDLP51) and standard single CD (RKIDCD51) formats; and for the first time ever Oasis are releasing a collectors edition box set(RKIDBOX51R). A strictly limited quantity of these box sets will be available through the band’s web site at www.oasisinet.com and at selected retail stores. The superbly packaged set (weighing in at a hefty 3.7 kilos) is the only place fans can get all the songs, remixes and audio visual material recorded for Dig Out Your Soul.  It includes: The album on CD, Bonus track CD with 9 tracks and remixes, a DVD featuring 40 mins of footage including exclusive behind the scenes making of the album and video for ‘The Shock Of The Lightning’; 4 x heavy weight vinyl records containing the album and bonus tracks, a deluxe 24 page hardback book plus an Mp3 download of the album (oasisinet only). Fans can see the boxset on YouTube –


‘Dig Out Your Soul’, will also be available in two separate formats for download purchasers. In addition to the full-length album, the band will be releasing a simple ten-track mp3 version for £5. This will be available from a variety of online stores and the band’s site at http://www.oasisinet.com. The full-length version of the album will also be available at all online stores and for fans that buy it on Oasisinet.com it comes with a half hour documentary on the making of the album.

This is the first time a new Oasis album has been made available on mp3 from release.

Finally, fans who pre-order ‘Dig Out Your Soul’ from iTunes will also receive a bonus track in the form of the Liam written ‘I Believe In All’ on day of release, as well as ‘Falling Down’ at time of order.



‘Dig Out Your Soul’ – track information:

Bag It Up (Noel Gallagher)

The Turning (Noel Gallagher)

Waiting For The Rapture (Noel Gallagher)

The Shock Of The Lightning (Noel Gallagher)

I’m Outta Time (Liam Gallagher)

(Get Off Your) High Horse Lady (Noel Gallagher)

Falling Down (Noel Gallagher)

To Be Where There’s Life (Gem Archer)

Ain’t Got Nothing (Liam Gallagher)

The Nature Of Reality (Andy Bell)

Soldier On (Liam Gallagher)

Previous post
Bestival Announce Line-up for Desperados Clubhouse
Next post
Oasis To Release ‘Dig Out Your Soul’

Oasis: New Album ‘Dig Out Your Soul’