Out today > Manchester electronic band OKLO debut EP ‘International Waters’

Out today > Manchester electronic band OKLO debut EP ‘International Waters’



Watch video for ‘Acedia’

Watch video for ‘Way Up’ (Silence Sleeps) here

Watch video for ‘I Climatize’ here



“The result is a striking portrait of our contemporary world” – DUMMY
“Scuzzed out pop distortion, art-rock meets melting digital soundwaves, it’s a precocious EP that grasps towards the sublime.” – CLASH

“Way Up is another bold stride forward from” – GoldflakePaint


Electronic band OKLO release their debut EP ‘International Waters’ via GODEATGOD today.

OKLO are a new London via Manchester based sextet of genre-shifting musicians swapping roles and instruments on their expansive, kaleidoscopic debut. Recorded in London and Margate, ‘International Waters’ draws inspiration from a whole multitude of aspects, each as pensive as the next.

Channeling emotions stemming from the current lack of resolve worldwide, OKLO dive into areas many musicians turn a blind eye to, Referencing nature, nihilistic tendencies and the trajectory of 21st century societies. The result is a striking portrait of our contemporary world.

Lead track ‘I Climatize’ is a scuzzy, hallucinatory spin, which the band claimed materialized “as a literal reflection on our surroundings morphing at a rapid pace. It is an ode to the age of Anthropocene.” Other tracks on ‘International Waters’ float from the accessible pop of ‘Acedia’ to solemn melancholic moodiness on ‘Machines Row Inland’. The EP was produced by Tom Carmichael (Real Lies, Haim, Courtney Barnett) with additional production and instrumentation Kyle Molleson.

Akin to the warped electro-pop scuzz of Yo La Tengo and Sacred Bones-signed duo The Holydrug Couple, OKLO are more influenced by the darker and grimier UK sounds of artists like Burial and Massive Attack. This EP stands as an abstract but stark reminder of our post-truth world and the realisation that passiveness could well be our downfall.



Yousif Al-Karghouli – Vocals, Guitar, Synth, Programming

Dom Taylor – Bass, Synth, Guitar, Backing Vocals

Alex Studnicki – Piano/Rhodes, Synth, Guitar

Charlie Coxedge – Guitar, Keys, Pedal Wizard

Will Power – Drums, Electronics, Programming

Oli Cooper – Guitar, Electronics, Textures & Ambience


Liner Notes:

Produced By Tom Carmichael. Additional production and instrumentation by

Kyle Molleson. Mastered by Matt Colton (Aphex Twin, James Blake, Drexciya)

International Waters was recorded in Salford, London, Margate & Reykjavik.

Independently released on the band’s label GODEATGOD.


Follow OKLO

Soundcloud / Facebook / Twitter / Instagram

Picture credit:

Coralie Monnet

Previous post
New video and single from Sydney's Michael P Cullen
Next post
Noel Gallagher's High Flying Birds release brand new single 'She Taught Me How To Fly' / watch the video here

Out today > Manchester electronic band OKLO debut EP ‘International Waters’