Pain Of Salvation Release New Albums and tour With Opeth

Pain Of Salvation Release New Albums and tour With Opeth

pain_of_salvation_road_salt_oneSweden’s PAIN OF SALVATION once again they prove their unmatched reputation as true, modern rock artists by delivering “Road Salt Two”, the twin-companion ”Road Salt One” (2010). Part two is as opulent in creativity and stylistic flirtation, as well as at the same time genuine, musically coherent and brave.

pain-of-salvation_promo_3a2010 was an eventful year for PAIN OF SALVATION: Several chart entries with “Road Salt One”, Russian train bombs, a successful appearance at the mainstream-oriented Swedish “Melodifestivalen” song-contest, the release and ban of a highly controversial video clip for the song, “Where It Hurts”, as well as acclaimed touring activity all over Europe, India and South America…

“Road Salt Two” once again presents PAIN OF SALVATION at its most emotionally intense and stylistically colourful, with a predominant 70’s vibe. Yet, in direct comparison to “Road Salt One”, it might strike the listener as being a bit darker. The album serves as a perfect culmination between ‘old’ and ‘new’ PAIN OF SALVATION, while also presenting a different and previously unheard side of the band. “Road Salt” goes full circle historically for the band.

A brief biographical re-cap: Since the foundation of his first significant band, Reality, in 1984, mastermind and bandleader Daniel Gildenlöw has consistently followed his own concept of diverse, technically accomplished and border-transcending progressive rock. He renamed the band to PAIN OF SALVATION in 1991 and has released six studio albums as well as one unplugged recording previous to the “Road Salt” opus, among them classics such as “Scarsick” (2007), “BE” (2004) and “Remedy Lane” (2002). Each of these releases has received acclaim as a multi-layered concept album, dealing with tough socio-political themes, while also manifesting very intimate, individualist views.

EU street date: September 26th, 2011

Making no exception to this tradition, “Road Salt Two” (also referred to as “Ebony”) opens up a new chapter for PAIN OF SALVATION, promising to kick off an adventurous and lengthy journey for the band to bring their music to all corners of the world. Starting out with a headlining Eastern European tour in October, the band will then embark on a larger European run together with Swedish comrades Opeth throughout November and December of 2011, with further international tour legs to follow in 2012.

PAIN OF SALVATION – “Road Salt Two” (53:41) track-listing:

1. Road Salt Theme (0:44)

2. Softly She Cries (4:15)

3. Conditioned (4:15)

4. Healing Now (4:29)

5. To the Shoreline (3:03)

6. Eleven (6:55)

7. 1979 (2:52)

8. The Deeper Cut (6:10)

9. Mortar Grind (5:46)

10. Through the Distance (2:56)

11. The Physics of Gridlock (8:43)

12. End Credits (3:25)

Note: A limited edition version of “Road Salt Two” will be available in Digipak format including extended artwork as well as bonus track material!

Line-Up: Daniel Gildenlöw – vocals/guitar, Johan Hallgren – guitar/vocals, Leo Margarit – drums/vocals, Fredrik Hermansson – keys/vocals


NOVEMBER (with Opeth)

8th – Bristol, Academy – UK

9th – Newcastle, Academy – UK

10th – Edinburgh, Picture House – UK

11th – Manchester, Academy – UK

12th – Birmingham, Academy – UK

13th – London, Brixton Academy – UK

Previous post
Coldplay and Tom Waits albums snub streaming sites
Next post
Zounds In America, The Redemption Of Zounds’ Q&A

Pain Of Salvation Release New Albums and tour With Opeth