Paul Heaton & Jacqui Abbott May live dates announced

Paul Heaton & Jacqui Abbott May live dates announced

Paul Heaton & Jacqui Abbott ‘New album – What Have We Become; Released 12th May via Virgin EMI

May live dates announced



‘What Have We Become’ is the new album from Paul Heaton & Jacqui Abbott. Paul & Jacqui return together on record for the first time since the multi-million selling days of The Beautiful South, who in the 1990s and early 2000s released a string of critically-acclaimed records.


‘What Have We Become’ is a wonderful contemporary record, full of lyrical wit and humour, whilst retaining a strong social conscience that touches on the changing social landscape of Britain (‘One Man’s England’, ‘When I Get Back To Blighty’), stereotypes in music (‘I Am Not A Muse’), whilst ‘The Snowman’ and ‘Some Dancing To Do’ deal with issues of loss.


Both are clearly delighted to be working together again as they explain:


Paul Heaton: “Working with Jacqui again was like going into your garage and discovering a beautiful, covered up Rolls Royce that hadn’t been started in years. Jacqui is one of the best singers I’ve worked with and is also part of my past. It was only a matter of time before I asked her.”


“I always wrote songs with Jacqui in mind. Even before I met her I pictured a voice that could carry the songs into people’s hearts in a particular way. When I first heard her sing I almost laughed because it was SO right for the songs.”


Jacqui Abbott: “It’s just great to be singing again after such a long time, especially with Paul. We had such a good run together previously and it’s just a real pleasure to be working with him again and singing these fantastic songs”

Listen to ‘What Have We Become’ here



1. Moulding of a Fool

2. D.I.Y

3. Some Dancing To Do

4. One Man’s England

5. What Have We Become

6. The Snowman

7. Costa del Sombre

8. The Right In Me

9. When it Was Ours

10. I Am Not A Muse

11. Stupid Tears

12. When I Get Back To Blighty


Paul & Jacqui have announced a string of UK dates where they will perform songs from the new album, alongside tracks from The Beautiful South and The Housemartins. These dates will be sponsored by the GMB Trade Union. Support on all dates comes from Cherry Ghost. Tickets will go on general sale on Friday 7th February at 10am from


May live dates:

Tues 20th                     Newcastle Tyne Theatre

Wed 21st                     Glasgow O2 ABC

Fri 23rd         Manchester Salford Lowry

Sat 24th                        Leeds O2 Academy

Tue 27th                       London O2 Shepherds Bush Empire

Thu 29th                      Sheffield Leadmill

Fri 30th                          Birmingham Institute

Sat 31st                         Hull City Hall

Previous post
Mainland Premiere the Title Track From Their Upcoming Shiner EP
Next post

Paul Heaton & Jacqui Abbott May live dates announced