PLACEBO KICK START THEIR 20TH ANNIVERSARY CELEBRATIONS WITH THEIR ENTIRE BACK CATALOGUE MADE AVAILABLE ON STREAMING SERVICES

PLACEBO KICK START THEIR 20TH ANNIVERSARY CELEBRATIONS WITH THEIR ENTIRE BACK CATALOGUE MADE AVAILABLE ON STREAMING SERVICES

PLACEBO KICK START THEIR 20TH ANNIVERSARY CELEBRATIONS WITH THEIR ENTIRE BACK CATALOGUE MADE AVAILABLE ON STREAMING SERVICES WORLDWIDE FOR THE FIRST TIME EVER.  THE ALBUMS WILL BE RELEASED OVER THE COURSE OF A WEEK.

 

OVER THE NEXT 12 MONTHS PLACEBO WILL RE-RELEASE THEIR MILESTONE ALBUMS REMASTERED FOR THE FIRST TIME ON HIGH QUALITY VINYL VIA UNIVERSAL MUSIC

 

2016 marks 20 years since Placebo released their eponymous seminal first album.  To mark the anniversary year the band are embarking on a two year period of celebratory retrospective activity.

 

For the first time Placebo’s entire back catalogue will be available on streaming services worldwide.  From Monday 16th February, over the course of a week the band will release one album each day – rollout as follows:

 

Monday 16th February – Placebo

Tuesday 17th February – Without You I’m Nothing

Wednesday 18th February – Black Market Music

Thursday 19th February – Sleeping With Ghosts

Friday 20th February – Meds

Saturday 21st February – Battle For The Sun

Sunday 22nd February – Covers (Originally released on ‘Sleeping With Ghosts’ as a bonus disc)

 

As part of this rollout, Placebo are being profiled as part of the Deezer Elite UK launch, a section of Deezer that allows users a high-resolution audio streaming service.

 

The band’s self titled first album helped pave the way for a strong shift in British music acting as an antithesis to Britpop, inspiring a generation of bands to follow them. Placebo went on to claim their place in British music history with five top ten albums in the UK, collaborating with music legends including amongst others David Bowie, Robert Smith + Michael Stipe and playing sold out tours and festival headline slots across the globe.

 

Over the next twelve months Placebo will re-release their milestone albums, remastered for the first time on high quality 180 gr vinyl. The first release will be their debut album on very limited edition red vinyl, as part of Record Store Day celebrations on 18th April. More details of these re-releases and other catalogue activity, special events and exclusive archive material around the 20 Year anniversary will be announced in due course.

 

The band are currently set to embark on their longest ever UK and Ireland tour throughout February and March.  This tour will see them debut their new line up, following the addition of former Colour Of Fire drummer Matt Lunn who replaces Steve Forrest.

 

Placebo will play the following shows:

Wednesday 25th February – Dublin Olympia – SOLD OUT

Thursday 26th February – Belfast Waterfront

Saturday 28th February – Edinburgh Corn Exchange

Sunday 1st March – Glasgow O2 Academy

Tuesday 3rd March – Aberdeen Music Hall – SOLD OUT

Wednesday 4th March – Newcastle O2 Academy – SOLD OUT

Friday 6th March – Hull City Hall

Saturday 7th March – Blackburn King George’s Hall

Monday 9th March – Leeds O2 Academy

10th March – Liverpool Guild of Students

Thursday 12th March – Manchester O2 Apollo

Friday 13th March – Sheffield O2 Academy – SOLD OUT

Sunday 15th March – Norwich  UEA – SOLD OUT

Monday 16th March – Leicester De Montfort Hall

Wednesday 18th March – Birmingham O2 Academy

Thursday 19th March – Bristol Colston Hall – SOLD OUT

Saturday 21st March – Bournemouth O2 Academy – SOLD OUT

Sunday 22nd March – Southend Pavilion – SOLD OUT

Tuesday 24th March – London Eventim Apollo  – SOLD OUT

Wednesday 25th March – London Eventim Apollo

 

Support on all dates from Dundee band THE MIRROR TRAP  www.facebook.com/themirrortrap

 

Tickets are available from www.gigsandtours.com

 

www.placeboworld.co.uk

Previous post
Mercury nominated singer Sam Lee shares new single / New album in March
Next post
Mind Brains announce tour dates w/ Neutral Milk Hotel & debut new video.
Back
SHARE

PLACEBO KICK START THEIR 20TH ANNIVERSARY CELEBRATIONS WITH THEIR ENTIRE BACK CATALOGUE MADE AVAILABLE ON STREAMING SERVICES