Pond Giveaway ‘Tears Of A Clown’ Cover Version, UK Tour Starts Tonight

Pond Giveaway ‘Tears Of A Clown’ Cover Version, UK Tour Starts Tonight

“…quite possibly the best album released so far this year.” – NME 9/10 album review

“Pond, an Australian rock band, toppled the stateliness of Britpop anthems into psychedelic turbulence, melting down grandiose riffs or pushing them toward screaming tantrums.” – New York Times

“This is music that references a bygone era of classic rock with such genuine love and ability, with such a dynamic frontman, that I stopped thinking about derivation, or imitation, or affiliation, but rather about how I was going to tell you guys to go see them. So, go see them.” – Stereogum

“from sleazy rock excess, to introspective, cracked psychedelia and back again” – Fader

“Pond…are very good at nailing tracks with best-of-both worlds approach, fusing those indulgent chunks of far-outness with fundamentally solid rock’n’roll tunes.” – Pitchfork

As purveyors of cosmic bollocks, Australian psych rockers Pond land in the UK for a month’s worth of dates starting at The Great Escape today. To celebrate, the band would like to share a scuzzy, freewheeling cover of Smokey Robinson’s ‘Tears Of A Clown’ that they recorded a while back, before current album ‘Beard, Wives, Denim’ took them touring across the world.

While on their extensive US tour over the Spring, Pond stopped by the KEXP (Seattle) and Radio K (Minneapolis) studios for live sessions. Both sessions are now available online, check them  HERE (KEXP) and HERE (RADIO K).

The band’s extensive run of dates across the UK and Europe are detailed below. We are also excited to announce that Rough Trade East London will be hosting Pond for an in-store on Tuesday May 22nd at 1pm.

Watch the video for ‘You Broke My Cool’ here

STAY TUNED FOR THE UPCOMING VIDEO FOR ‘MOTH WINGS’

POND EUROPEAN TOUR DATES

Thurs May 10 – The Great Escape, Brighton, England
Fri May 11 – The Great Escape, Brighton, England
Sat May 12 – Walk The Line Festival, Den Haag, Holland
Sun May 13 – Vera, Groningen, Holland
Mon May 14 – Indiestad Festival, Amsterdam, Holland
Tues May 15 – Doornroosje, Nlijmegen, Holland
Thurs May 17 – Rockhal Café, Luxembourg,
Fri May 18 – Sound City, Liverpool, England
Sat May 19 – Cockpit, Leeds, England
Sun May 20 – Hare and Hounds, Birmingham, England
Tues May 22 – Rough Trade East, London, England, 1pm
Tues May 22 – Cargo, London, England
Wed May 23 – Craufurd Arms, Milton Keyes, England
Fri May 25 – Arches, Glasgow, Scotland
Sat May 26 – Soup Kitchen, Manchester, England
Tues May 29 – Blue Shell, Cologne, Germany
Wed May 30 – Molotow, Cologne, Germany
Fri June 1 – Trix, Antwerp, Belgium
Sat June 2 – Field Day, London, England
Sat June 2 – Dot To Dot, Bristol, England
Sun June 3 – Dot To Dot, Nottingham, England
Mon June 4 – Dot To Dot, Manchester, England

Tickets are available here: http://www.artistticket.com/link/?s=Pond

www.modularpeople.com
www.facebook.com/pondling

Previous post
KING CHARLES ANNOUNCES NEW SINGLE WITH MUMFORD & SONS, AS HIS DEBUT ALBUM 'LOVEBLOOD' ENTERS MID-WEEK CHARTS AT NUMBER 19
Next post
Prawn Posts Teaser for New EP out July 17 oon Topshelf Records
Back
SHARE

Pond Giveaway ‘Tears Of A Clown’ Cover Version, UK Tour Starts Tonight