Prurient announces new album, Frozen Niagara Falls, available this May via Profound Lore

Prurient announces new album, Frozen Niagara Falls, available this May via Profound Lore



Known as America’s most prominent noise figurehead, for nearly 20 years under the moniker of Prurient, Dominick Fernow has created a sonic entity unlike any other in the realm of experimental, ambient, and noise music respectively. Throughout a massive repertoire that consists of full-lengths, EPs, splits, singles, limited cassette runs and 7” releases, etc., Prurient is one of the most important artists to define and reinvent the genre of noise music, which in turn has made Fernow one of the premiere visionaries in the genre of experimental music.

Throughout the years, Prurient has been known to constantly shape shift its sound into many mutations and incarnations within the noise genre through massively layered walls of sound.  Consisting of harsh feedback, tortured vocals, meticulous sampling, machine-like industrial pounding, entrancing synth work, enticing beats, and waves of electronica, these sounds create an aura that treads the fine line of harsh noise extremity and atmospheric beauty.

  Frozen Niagara Falls, Prurient’s first full-length album since the 2011 game changer Bermuda Drain, sees Fernow deliver the most ambitious and massive Prurient album to date.  A double-album clocking in at a near 90-minutes, this new Prurient album is set to define Fernow even more as a master within all the genres the band tends to crossover into.


  In what encompasses moments familiar from the entire Prurient catalog along with creating something entirely new and different from what Prurient has previously done, Frozen Niagara Falls (in which its journey began to manifest in late 2013 and was finally completed on Valentine’s Day 2015) could very well be recognised as the Prurient magnum opus.


Frozen Niagara Falls

Produced by: Arthur Rizk, Kris Lapke

Mastered by: Paul Corley

Cover photo by: Becka Diamond

Design by: Nikolay Saveliev

Additional art contributors: Matt Kenny, Adam Gordon, Adam Marnie

Track Listing:

1. Myth Of Building Bridges

2. Dragonflies To Sew You Up

3. A Sorrow With A Braid

4. Every Relationship Earthrise

5. Traditional Snowfall

6. Jester In Agony

7. Poinsettia Pills

8. Shoulders Of Summerstones

9. Wildflowers (Long Hair With Stocking Cap)

10. Greenpoint

11. Lives Torn Apart (NYC)

12. Frozen Niagara Falls (Portion One)

13. Cocaine Daughter

14. Falling Mask

15. Frozen Niagara Falls (Portion Two)

16. Christ Among The Broken Glass

(Band photo credit: Becka Diamond)

  Song premieres, release details, and more information to come prior to the Frozen Niagara Falls May release date.

“Fernow wants to shake you up, unnerve you, make you understand just how fragile ‘beautiful’ music is…”Pitchfork

Previous post
CGIV (Clean George IV) new single + video (listen to single, post video) 27 April 2015
Next post
London doomsters BRIGHT CURSE to release new epic single "Shaman" on March 20th!

Prurient announces new album, Frozen Niagara Falls, available this May via Profound Lore