The Rifles Announce New Single ‘You Win Some’ + Album ‘None The Wiser’

The Rifles Announce New Single ‘You Win Some’ + Album ‘None The Wiser’

The Rifles new album release ‘None The Wiser’ –  20th January with the ‘You Win Some’ a week later through Cooking Vinyl

“Delivered with gusto and buckets of Charm, Chingford’s spiky guitar poppers continue to crackle with youthful vigour” Uncut


On 27th January The Rifles release ‘You Win Some’ – the second single taken from their critically acclaimed fourth album ‘None The Wiser’, out early next year.


‘You Win Some’ is the band’s own uplifting British take on West Coast folk rock, which provides a hazy and summery respite from winter’s grimness. Upbeat yet mature, it’s a carefree exploration of acceptance, optimism, growing stronger and the beauty in metamorphosing yourself while opening your heart to future possibilities.


With consistently respectable chart entries and a huge, loyal fanbase (that to this day sees the band sell-out large venues like London’s Forum across the UK and Europe), combined with genuine songwriting talent and unwavering creativity, The Rifles have long outlived many of their original peers.


‘None The Wiser’ finds the four-piece on fine form, and marks yet another raising of the bar, with brilliantly-crafted classic rock, plus an added dose of folk, Americana, a strong pop sensibility and highly-deft songwriting skills.


Their trademark Mod sound, rock and roll and timeless indie pop are all present and correct, but the band have broadened their musical palette, drawing influence from, in their own words, Bob Dylan, Talking Heads, some Clash and as always – the Beatles.”


‘Minute Mile’ runs rabid, building to a crescendo of raucous guitars and pounding percussion, that leads into the super-charged rock ‘n’ roll of ‘Heebie Jeebies’, whilst ‘Go Lucky’ nods towards their fondness for The Jam.

The topsy-turvy ‘Under and Over’ captures the band’s ebullient spirit and will no doubt fast become a firm live anthem at the band’s notoriously rowdy gigs.


Packing a ferocious punch since 2006 with their debut album ‘No Love Lost’, the unyielding Rifles have picked up high profile fans in musical heroes Paul Weller and Oasis. The band released their second album ‘Great Escape’ in 2009 and third longplayer ‘Freedom Run’ in 2011.


‘None The Wiser’ was produced by Dave McCracken (Ian Brown), plus Jamie Ellis and Charles Reece at Paul Weller’s Black Barn Studios. It was mixed by Steve Harris (Miles Kane) and Mike Crossey (Jake Bugg/1975).


The album was recorded by the newly reformed original line up of Joel Stoker (vocals, guitar), Lucas Crowther (guitar, vocals), Robert Pyne (bass) and Grant Marsh (drums).


Spring Tour Dates 2014


28th April – Cardiff, The Globe

29th April – Exeter, The Phoenix

30th April – Southampton, The Brook

1st May – Norwich, Waterfront

2nd May – London, Shepherds Bush Empire

3rd May – Brighton, Brighton Racecourse, Modfest

4th May – Manchester, The Ritz

6th May – Glasgow, Oran Mor

8th May – Wolverhampton, Slade Rooms

9th May – Cambridge, Junction 2

10th May – Leamington, The Assembly 2

Tickets available at and for more info visit:

Previous post
Cross Wires Release ‘Assembly’ EP Set For February
Next post

The Rifles Announce New Single ‘You Win Some’ + Album ‘None The Wiser’