Rongorongo – Dream Pop Six Piece Release ‘Blacj Rain’ A New Single And Video

Rongorongo – Dream Pop Six Piece Release ‘Blacj Rain’ A New Single And Video


“The sort of sighing, simmering synth-led new wave-inspired pop music that bands from Liverpool seem to do so well” – The Skinny
“Rongorongo feel like just about the best band in Liverpool right now” – Getintothis

“A blast of post-Outfit Scouse” – NME

Haunted pop probers Rongorongo oscillate over climate, wellness and psychogeography on new single ‘Black Rain’, out now via War Room Records.

Rongorongo know a thing or two about building a psychological safe place where the mind can wander. The sextet’s forthcoming release, the introspective, yet propulsive ‘Black Rain’ pours over the idea of the internal weather systems that regulate our mental states. It is posited there is a ‘psychogeographic climate’ that exists outside of the personal that forms through the noise of politics/economics/culture. The damp atmospherics of ‘Black Rain’ attempts to harness these two factors with a defiance that insists the storm isn’t permanent and that there could be a break in the weather soon. ‘Black Rain’ is a “is a call to arms and hopefully a helping hand”, explains vocalist Mick Chrysalid.

Watch / Share the video for ‘Black Rain’ here

Merseyside six piece Rongorongo have been bubbling under the surface with an ominous volatility since their swirling inception. With a taste for macabre sensibilities combined with an uncanny knack for ear tunnelling melodies the ensemble have won keen critical acclaim over the release of two prior EPs (Automatic Hypnotist and their eponymous debut). GIT Award nominees in 2016, the band most recently performed a high octane show at this year’s Liverpool Music Week Closing Party on November 4th which boasted headline performances from Zola Jesus and Perfume Genius. Rongorongo released ‘Black Rain’ on War Rooms Records shortly after on November 24th. Follow up single ‘Euclid’ is slated for release on January 10th.

Rongorongo are Sam Gill (drums), Our Keith (bass) Alex Walker (Guitar) Jonny Davis Le Brun (Guitar) Phil Howells (guitar) and Mick Chrysalid (vocals).

Twitter | Facebook

‘Black Rain’ by Rongorongo available now on the following formats:

Previous post
Typhoon share stirring new video for "Rorschach" / UK live dates in 2018
Next post
Paul Mosley & The Red Meat Orchestra update classic carol 'I Saw Three Ships' in 'Wintertide'

Rongorongo – Dream Pop Six Piece Release ‘Blacj Rain’ A New Single And Video